× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to block traffic between other ports but Internet access point using FS750T2

MPS82
Aspirant

How to block traffic between other ports but Internet access point using FS750T2

Hi,

I'm new to network stuff and I hope someone could help me out with this problem:

I have several apartments and one Internet access point (VPN gateway) connected to a 48 port switch. There is an end device in each apartment and I need to make them inaccessible/invisible from other apartments to avoid any unauthorized modifications or sabotage.

How do I configure the switch so that there is no access from one apartment to another but each apartment has connection to Internet/gateway? The switch seems to be configured so that VLAN covers all the ports by default. What happens if I delete this VLAN?

Model: FS750T2|ProSAFE 48-port 10/100 Smart Switch with 2 Gigabit ports
Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
Hopchen
Prodigy

Re: How to block traffic between other ports but Internet access point using FS750T2

Hi @MPS82

To separate devices, in that way that you want, you will need to use VLANs. It is the only proper way to do this. Each "department" in its own VLAN.

However, you will have a problem in that these VLANs need to be routed to the Internet as well. This switch cannot do that as it is only a layer 2 switch. It can do the VLAN part, but not the routing part. It is fine as long as your router/gateway can though. Is your router/gateway VLAN aware?

Cheers

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 9

All Replies
Hopchen
Prodigy

Re: How to block traffic between other ports but Internet access point using FS750T2

Hi @MPS82

To separate devices, in that way that you want, you will need to use VLANs. It is the only proper way to do this. Each "department" in its own VLAN.