× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

LAN, VLAN, on a single data socket

Viper18181
Aspirant

LAN, VLAN, on a single data socket

I am not a networing expert and stuck with this issue.

I have the following case:

I have a single data wall socket behind my TV and I need to to connect many devices to this data socket.

My ISP provides a device for internet and TV service. This device has 4 ports; 1 for internet and 3 for TV.

The problem is TV reciever must be connected directly to main device.

I have done the following:

On TV side, I have GS308E (8 Port Smart switch) and given port 1 VLAN4

On the ISP device side, I have GS724Tv3 (24 Port Smart switch) and given port 14, 16, 18, 20 VLAN 4 also.

It didn't work.

Any suggestions??

Model: GS308E|8 Port Gigabit Ethernet Smart Managed Plus Switch, GS724Tv3|24 ports ProSafe Gigabit Smart switch
Message 1 of 10

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: LAN, VLAN, on a single data socket

Again, only ONE IPTV port must be connected between the ISP Device and the switch, for example only the one connecting to port #20 on the switch. Otherwise, you will create a network loop on the IPTV network.

Then, also the yellow port #22 and the blue #20 must have the exact matching VLAN config on the GS724T as shown in the VLAN table config for the GS308E.

If you have two more TV boxes and switches: Asuming you want to connect these from the GS724T, you need to configure two more ports as a trunk (like the yellow #22, to the VLAN config very similar to the port #8 on the GS308E.

No, port based VLAN does work within one switch only.

View solution in original post

Message 7 of 10

All Replies
schumaku
Guru

Keep it simple - and avoid connecting multiple ports of the same VLAN/switch (on the router) why ever: