× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

NETGEAR 8-Port PoE GS108PEv3 Software Question

switchbaby
Aspirant

NETGEAR 8-Port PoE GS108PEv3 Software Question

SO im new to switches, I work from a Macbook Pro

I only need to wire internet into 6 rooms. nothing complicated

but id like to be able to control the mb in each room if i need to (allocate more into one room)

i bought a 16 port TP link & it was "smart managed" 

It was giving me problems with the signal, not sure why but i couldnt access the software to get in, i tried through the terminal also but didnt make it

Does the GS108PE come with a managing softwsare?

I see a lot of videos on youtube but no one talks about how to access this software.

usually its an ip? right?

so my question is, just for internet & one survelience camera is GS108PE this a good piece?

and will i be able to access the software from my mac?

and i see that there is an app also? from hyour phone?

thank you

Model: GS108PEv3|ProSafe Gigabit Plus switch with PoE
Message 1 of 4
schumaku
Guru

Re: NETGEAR 8-Port PoE GS108PEv3 Software Question

@switchbaby wrote:

I only need to wire internet into 6 rooms. nothing complicated

Excellent plan, the best investment for a network!

@switchbaby wrote:

but id like to be able to control the mb in each room if i need to (allocate more into one room)

Unclear what management features you are looking for here. 

On a port, you can connect either a single system/computer, or add a local switch for more ports in that room.

@switchbaby wrote:

i bought a 16 port TP link & it was "smart managed" 

It was giving me problems with the signal, not sure why but i couldnt access the software to get in, i tried through the terminal also but didnt make it

These other vendor model and Netgear Plus switches (formerly named Smart Managed Plus) share similar switch design and management.