× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Netgear GS724Tv4 vlan routing

FlipFluitketel
Aspirant

Netgear GS724Tv4 vlan routing

Hi,

I'm rather new to vlan's so I might have missed something simple but I don't get it working like I hoped it would.

I've got a Genexis Platinum 7840 modem which hasn't got options for vlan's. From the modem goes an utp-cable to port 1 on my GS724Tv4-switch. I thought this switch would be capable of dividing the network into multiple separate networks but I can't get it working.

What I did was this: On the routing-tab I created a VLAN with ID 10 and ip-adress 192.168.10.254 (the Genexis modem has ip-address 192.168.2.254) and set ports 21 and 22 to U(ntagged). After restarting the modem I don't get any connection at all from those ports. I followed the instructions on How to configure routing VLANs on a NETGEAR managed switch with shared internet access | Answer | NE... but do I also have to do the "Configure DHCP server" and "Add a default route" and "Add static routes on the internet gateway." steps?

Model: GS724Tv4|ProSafe 24 ports Gigabit Smart switch
Message 1 of 8
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Netgear GS724Tv4 vlan routing

@FlipFluitketel,

Welcome to the community! Smiley Happy 

The KB article How to configure routing VLANs on a NETGEAR managed switch with shared internet access? is suitable for NETGEAR Fully Managed Switches as indicated on the part that says "This article applies to" as shown below:

For FlipFluitketel.jpg

Be informed that the GS724Tv4 belongs to the Smart Managed Pro Switch Models and all Smart Managed Pro Switches does NOT have the capability to create a DHCP server.  Kindly review the specifications of the GS724Tv4 on its data sheet here

Is the Genexis Platinum 7840 modem a modem-only device or modem-router combo?  Here are the options below: