× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Stacking GS752TPSB and GS752TSB questions

DF2002
Tutor

Stacking GS752TPSB and GS752TSB questions

Hi, I am new to switch stacking. I will soon be getting 2 GS752TPSB and 2 GS752TSB switches, and am wondering about the following:

a)if stacking is preferable to uplinking. Are there other benefits to stacking besides the single IP management? 

b)can I stack for example 2 switches, and then add a 3rd and 4th switch into the stack later without majorly reconfiguring everything?

c)Lastly, assuming these 4 switches would be used, I would have 1 switch in a separate part of the building, connected to the main patch panel via standard copper CAT6. Is there anything I can do to stack this last switch, or would I only be able to uplink that one?

Thanks, excited to get testing soon!

Model: GS752TPSB|ProSafe 52 ports gigabit stackable smart switch with PoE
Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Stacking GS752TPSB and GS752TSB questions

@DF2002,

Welcome to the community! 🙂 

a)if stacking is preferable to uplinking. Are there other benefits to stacking besides the single IP management? 

Let me share the article below: 

What is stacking, which smart switches support it, and what are the functionalities of stacking? 

b)can I stack for example 2 switches, and then add a 3rd and 4th switch into the stack later without majorly reconfiguring everything?

Yes.  You can stack up to 6 switches.  Be reminded that you can only mix and match different switch models from the same switch series.  Let me share the article below and use it as your guide: 

How do I add switches to an operating stack on my managed switch? 

Furthermore, kindly read pages 61-69 of the GS7xxTS/GS7xxTPS software administration manual here about Stacking.