× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

VLAN Set-up with WAX610, MS510TXPP, GS110EMX & pfSense

fr0gg
Follower

VLAN Set-up with WAX610, MS510TXPP, GS110EMX & pfSense

I'll start out by saying I am not a networking expert and have struggled thus far successfully to get a new home network using a homemade pfSense box to run.  The intention of this was to increase security and this was to be achieved primarily through the use of VLAN's.  This is where my question comes in. 

I am trying to set up a home network with VLAN's and am having the most issues with the wireless aspect. The primary networking equipment is made up of :

• WAX610 (2 times)
  • MS510TXPP
  • GS110EMX
  • pfSense box

All are VLAN capable.  Where I have issues is getting a VLAN-appropriate IP address over the AP's.

The specific arrangement is that the AP('s) connect (trunk) to the MS510TXPP which trunks to the GS110EMX which trunks to the pfSense gateway port.

I have tested using different SSID's with different VLAN memberships on the AP.  When I connect to the AP on an SSID which does not match the VLAN membership of the AP itself, I do not get an appropriate IP address.

This means, if the AP itself is set to VLAN ID 10 and I connect to an SSID also set to VLAN ID 10, I get an appropriate IP address (e.g. 192.168.10.XXX).

If I connect to an SSID where the VLAN ID is for example 20, I get an IP address which is not in the subnet it ought to be in (e.g. instead of 192.168.20.XXX, I get some completely different value like not even in the range of 192.168.X.X).

I have checked my pfSense DCHP server for each of the VLAN's and when a request comes from a particular VLAN on the wired network, I get IP addresses in the right range.