× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

WAC510 Multiple SSID on separate VLAN using Smart Switch GSS116E

slamers74
Aspirant

WAC510 Multiple SSID on separate VLAN using Smart Switch GSS116E

First - I am new to VLAN setup and smart switch configuration, though I have some background and understand the goal and purpose of them. 

My ultimate goal is to end up with multiple VLAN's to create a more secure home / home office / business solution:

2 - Internal Secure: Allow sharing of printer, NAS, etc
3- External Controlled: IoT and other devices that I know of and may need to control/interface

4 - Guest: True guest wireless, no cross device sharing, internet access only

I have a home NetGear router (R6400 - soon to replace with an R4750 I was using as my old WAP) as my 'core' to separate the Cable Modem from my internal network. This router is also serving as the DHCP server and needs to for all my VLAN's (I do have some fixed addresses too and that is all separated).

From there I have a single connection to Port 1 of my GSS116 - 16 Port Smart Managed Plus Click Switch.

• I have setup the VLAN's and cross them to physical ports on my network already. I am using VLAN - Port Based - Advanced
  • All ports on the switch have connection to Port 1 - to get to the outside world.
  • I have my WAC510 connection to Port 11.
  • I have Port 11 listed on all 4 VLAN's
  • VLAN IDPort Members
    11                   11   13
    21       5     8     11 12 13     16
    31     4           10 11 12
    41                   11
  • Important Ports are as follows:
    • 1: Connection to LAN port on core router
    • 11: Wireless Access Point WAC510
    • 13: My office where my workstation is
    • Other ports represent machines inside (NAS, Other hard wired PCs) and outside (TV, PS3, DVD, etc)