× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Powerline 1200 -- Securing Network

adrianmessenger
Aspirant

Powerline 1200 -- Securing Network

Is there any way to verify the Powerline Network is secured?  There is no assigned status light for the encryption being enabled, nor a color or blinking code, so how do I know it has been enabled?

Model: PLP1200|Powerline 1200 Adapter
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions

Re: Powerline 1200 -- Securing Network

In the desktop genie, did you right click the plugs?

This gives more information and the ability to change the names.

I'm no expert on this, but I reckon that your analysis is spot on.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 5

All Replies

Can you get your hands on the Powerline Utility?

Failing that, if you use the desktop Netgear genie. You can use the Network Map to check, and change, the encryption key.

I would embed a picture, but Netgear seems to have broken that bit of the forum.

Message 2 of 5
adrianmessenger
Aspirant

Hi Michael,

I have Genie and per your suggestion, I downloaded and installed the Powerline Utility.  Both present similar information.

Genie, has an icon for "Powerline" on the network Map.  While it doesn't identify the Powerline model for the powerline "endpoints", it does list the firmware as "Netgear" confirming to me it is the PLP1200s it is seeing. 

On the network connection graphic it has a padlock icon, which I think means the encryption is enabled.  Additionally, the network map displays the device connected to the network via the "unkown" PLP1200s.

The Powerline Utility, shows the PLP1200 endpoints and both are listed as "unknown" with a similar padlock icon, which again am interpreting as the secruity encryption is enabled.