× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

What Access Points can I add to existing PowerLINE PL1000 Adapter?

JohnW24x7
Follower

What Access Points can I add to existing PowerLINE PL1000 Adapter?

I am still a newbie to understanding networks, but I have successfully installed the Netgear PowerLINE Wifi 1000 extender, and it really works great.

I want to add one more Access Point.

I have been unsuccessful in finding out where I can solely purchase another PLW1000 device, so what are my options?

Am I missing where I can purchase another PLW1000 access point? Can someone recommend a compatible access point to add to my powerline extender?

I do not require the second powerline access point to broadcast WiFi, but it would be nice.

Any assistance would greatly be appreciated.

Model: PL1000|PowerLINE 1000 adapter, PLW1000|PowerLINE 1000 Wireless adapter
Message 1 of 5

Re: What Access Points can I add to existing PowerLINE PL1000 Adapter?

@JohnW24x7 wrote:

Am I missing where I can purchase another PLW1000 access point? Can someone recommend a compatible access point to add to my powerline extender?

Netgear, like many suppliers of Powerline systems, does not sell single plugs. You have to buy the bundle. However, one or two brands do sell standalone plugs, including AP plugs. (Check the usual places.) Then there is the second-hand market.

Many routers work in AP mode, so an alternative is to use a standard (non AP) plug as the Ethernet link between a router and a wifi extender in AP mode.

Most recent Powerline devices follow the AV standard, which means that you can mix different makes and different generations. The only issue if that if you add "1000" plugs to a network with "500" plugs, or vice versa, they will talk to each other at the speed of the slowest plugs on the network.

Remember, you need only one "source" plug connected to the router.