Occasional Contributor

5Ghz connection dropping

I have been using the R6300 since end of January 2013. So far I am not able to make use of the 5Ghz connection. The maximum time I can be connected is between 5 – 25 minutes. After that I lose the connection. I am able to then connect to the 2.4 Ghz and the 5Ghz is not shown at all. After a while the 5 Ghz is back and I can connect again but for the same period of time. I have this issue on the Laptop, iPhone (4 and 5) and iPad. So far Netgear has not been able to get this resolved. Does anyone encounter the same problem and have a possible solution? I am about to return the product and request a refund.
Initial Contributor

Re: 5Ghz connection dropping

Similar problem with my r6300, which I first set up in early March, pretty sure both bands are dropping: definitely drops the 5Ghz (iPad3, which asks which band to use in Settings) every 5 minutes or so, and also drops the TV(Netflix-Amazon) every few minutes (TV connects via Panasonic wifi dongle, likely 2.4Ghz since it's a few years old). Seems like this has gotten worse and worse with time, though happened at least somewhat since I set it up. Have tried moving the unit around, but the iPad drops even when it's right next to the router, then a minute or so later, it's back up - even while the router says it's always up ( "Show Statistics" shows no donw time, even when nothing is coming to any of the wireless computers). And the modem works fine when directly connected to the computer.
For a "Best of the Best" router, this has been a real loser.
Let me know if you get an answer, eh?
Occasional Contributor

Ha email contact and telephone contact with Netgear today. According to Netgear they do not know of similar problems.
Netgear is looking into this and may want to sent a new Router.
Initial Contributor