Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-07-06

5ghz wireless network disappears

So I have been having a consistent issue with my R6300 where the 5ghz network just disappears randomly. It happens during different times of the day regardless of whether the router is being heavily used for streaming or just sitting idle. I have had it suddenly disconnect on my while gaming or finding my laptop disconnected from the network when I wake up in the morning. On checking the web portal, it shows the 5ghz network up and running. Power cycling the router or disabling/enabling SSID broadcast usually gets it back online. I have already done the following -

- Upgraded to latest firmware
- Reset to factory defaults
- Downgraded to original firmware
- Returned and got a new R6300
- Turned off my iPhone 4s that connects to the 2.4Ghz network
- Set preamble to short for both networks
- I can connect to the 2.4ghz network and get to the Internet out perfectly fine

Before you say that it is my PC, I have two laptops(Dell and Sager) with different wireless cards that recognize/connect to the 5ghz network. Both of them notice the network disappearing. Does anyone have any suggestions of what else I can do before I go ahead and return this router as well? I find it strange that I am having the same issue even after replacing the router with another one.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

try totally different dual band capable wifi adapter pc and try again

ask try different wireless speed as well
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=77339
here is recent post to 5Ghz issues by other user
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-07-06

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

Called Netgear and they had me drop the MTU to 1492. I believe I had already tried bumping the speed down as well as trying a different channel but I'll go ahead and make that change and see what happens. Also, I have another laptop that connects to this 5Ghz network and it experiences the same issue.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

MTU has nothing to do with wireless connectivity or scan your SSID on either of bands
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

I noticed tonight that I was having a SEVERE problem with timeouts on a 5GHz device running a WNDA3100 V1.

The channel that was selected was 153. I changed it to channel 40 and that fixed the 5GHz problem. At least for now.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-07-09

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

I'm having the same issue with the R6300 on the 5Ghz radio. It'll be fine for a few days, then it'll drop off. A reboot of the router brings it back to normal.

I don't like the idea of having to switch to channel 40 since that's a lower powered channel and will have an impact on performance.

It's really frustrating because after a reboot I get a 70% signal strength on the 5Ghz radio and only 50-60% on the 2.4Ghz radio on my HTPC. I'm holding out to see if there's another firmware update before my 30 day return policy from Amazon is up. Otherwise it's going back.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-07-09

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

I'm having the same issue with the R6300 on the 5Ghz radio. It'll be fine for a few days, then it'll drop off. A reboot of the router brings it back to normal. I don't like the idea of having to switch to channel 40 since that's a lower powered channel and will have an impact on performance. It's really frustrating because after a reboot I get a 70% signal strength on the 5Ghz radio and only 50-60% on the 2.4Ghz radio on my HTPC. I'm holding out to see if there's another firmware update before my 30 day return policy from Amazon is up. Otherwise it's going back.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

Bobat wrote:
I'm having the same issue with the R6300 on the 5Ghz radio. It'll be fine for a few days, then it'll drop off. A reboot of the router brings it back to normal.

I don't like the idea of having to switch to channel 40 since that's a lower powered channel and will have an impact on performance.

It's really frustrating because after a reboot I get a 70% signal strength on the 5Ghz radio and only 50-60% on the 2.4Ghz radio on my HTPC. I'm holding out to see if there's another firmware update before my 30 day return policy from Amazon is up. Otherwise it's going back.


I really just started using my 5Ghz machine today. After reading your post about not wanting to use channel 40 I went back in and changed mine to channel 161. It seems to be working the same way channel 40 did, in other words it's working fine on 161. I went back into my wndr3700 and looked at the config there and 161 is what I was using on that router before it gave up its ghost.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: 5ghz wireless network disappears

madhatter wrote:
I really just started using my 5Ghz machine today. After reading your post about not wanting to use channel 40 I went back in and changed mine to channel 161. It seems to be working the same way channel 40 did, in other words it's working fine on 161. I went back into my wndr3700 and looked at the config there and 161 is what I was using on that router before it gave up its ghost.


Nope, 5GHz went out after 5 hours of sitting idle. Going back tomorrow.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Discussion Stats
  • 13 replies
  • 26614 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors