Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-12-26

D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I can't upgrade my D6300 firmware. When you login it says a new version exists. I click on the link, I get:

Firmware Upgrade Assistant

A new version has been found. Do You want to upgrade to the new version now?
Current GUI Language Version: 1.0.0.20_2.1.17.5
New GUI Language Version: 1.0.0.70_3.1.2.5
Current Firmware Version 1.0.0.42
New Firmware Version 1.0.0.72_1.0.72
Release Notes:
1. Update to version 1.0.0.72

------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloading and updating the language table

------------------------------------------------------------------

Unknown Error: 111

This screen will automatically return to the previous screen in a few seconds...





If I download the latest firmware and manually try to upload it, It tries, then gets a connection reset. If I try to upload the same version it already has, it says it's the wrong firmware. In the past, I have only ever used the automatic built-in update function.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎2013-10-18

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

And are you wired to the router when upgrading the firmware, or wireless?

Also, what's the reason for upgrading? I've got the same router on V1.0.0.42_1.0.42 and it's stable. Smiley Happy
8/1 Mbit/s ADSL

Router: D-Link DIR-615

Wired AP: Netgear WNR1000v2
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-12-26

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

wired. Just hoping for some improved 2.4ghz performance
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

hard reset the router first then try again with the firmware
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2014-03-22

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I have exactly the same issue. I tried the hard reset which didn't work I also downloaded the zip file and tried that way again this failed
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

Revert to factory settings from within the router's GUI and try again. BTW, did you unpack the downloaded ZIP archive?
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Initial Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2014-03-22

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I did "Revert to Factory Settings".... But the thing that seemed to work for me was to download the xxx.72 Firmware from their site - unzip it with 7Zip - and update the router manually from the "Administration"; "Router Update" Tab. Meh! It only cost me a weeks wages - one year ago.... So I can understand why they can't be bothered to properly write 25 megs of Firmware. Smiley Happy
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

It's more trustworthy if you manually uploads then rely on automtic download from the router GUI
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2014-03-22

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

lugworm,

I will try this again - I have tried both methods both failed
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I suggest reading step four of the 'Check and Change' guide, located here. The guide will provide one way to properly change firmware, even if it's the same version. While written for a different model the instructions should be interchangeable. If applicable, it is recommended that all USB devices are safely removed from the router before beginning. Always use a wired connection to perform the firmware change. Only use saved configuration files when there are no issues and only with the same firmware version to avoid contamination.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Discussion Stats
  • 24 replies
  • 7632 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 11 in conversation
Top Contributors