Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2012-09-28

New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

I'm going to try this when I get home!

R6300-V1.0.2.36_1.0.28

New Features & Enhancements:

Added Turkish language support in GUI.
Added Russia WAN Wizard and Russian IPTV support.
Added 2.4g HT20/HT40 coexistence disable button so router can stay in HT40 to have higher link rate, even there are some wireless interference surrounding.
Change Web GUI display issue when radio is disabled.
Change MiniDLNA code base to fix SQL attack issue.
Added GUID partition table support.
Bug Fixes:

Fixed Broadcast Name on Router Status page displayed off when SSID Broadcast is enabled.
Javascript error displayed after fill in the Router's PIN number and click "Next" to start the WPS process on IE9.
Fixed 5Ghz Signal degrades or link rate drop after R6300 running after couple weeks in some noisy\interference environment.
To Install

Note: Do not upgrade the firmware using a wireless connection. Please perform firmware upgrade with “wired” or Ethernet connection only.

Write down all the settings which you changed from the default values, since you may need to reenter them manually.
Download using the button below to a convenient place such as your desktop.
Log in to the router using a Web browser. The URL is http://www.routerlogin.net.
Click ADVANCED tab > Administration > Firmware Upgrade.
Click Browse and find the file you just downloaded.
Click Upload. Do not interrupt the upgrade while the router does this step.

Important Note:

1. The upgrade process is completed when the on screen progress bar completes. If power LED light turns amber and blinking, power cycle the router to complete the upgrade.

2. If the upgrade progress bar on web GUI doesn’t display correctly during firmware upgrade, you can still check the status using Power LED. The Power LED should be blinking (amber) during firmware upgrade. After firmware upgrade is done and boots up the system, it changes to steady amber color.
Please DO NOT power off or reboot the device during firmware upgrade, otherwise, it may result to a corrupt firmware and cause the device not to work.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Me Too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

I will b installing this on Friday.
Also I will be testing this with the a6200 adaptor!


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Mark_K wrote:
I will b installing this on Friday.
Also I will be testing this with the a6200 adaptor!


It feels faster than .21
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Upgrade Notes:
1) Latest FW seems to be working good.
2) I initially upgraded using a wired machine. I used the 6300's administrative page to do the upgrade
3) After the upgrade I had internet access for a short period of time, but then lost internet access on all of my machines
4) I then performed a Reset to Defaults | Upgrade | Reset to Defaults and rekeyed my settings (reservations / port forwards, DHCP range, etc.)
5) I noticed that my machines weren't picking up the reserved DHCP's properly and I had lots of IP conflicts after making reservations. I have 44 devices and some get IP's reserved, some are static, and some just get whatever DHCP hands out.
6) Unlike previous FW upgrades, I had to power on/off or reboot many of my devices in order to get the proper IP's handed out to them, they didn't seem to get reset on their own. This was after powering the router on/off a couple times.

Once I got through those steps, the new version has been working good. I guess the only recommendation I would make is to do the RESET TO DEFAULT upfront before starting the upgrade and it will save a step in the process.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Ok

Just installed my new Netgear A6200 WIFI USB adapter and i am now getting 585 Mbps on 5G.

I am now going to install the new firm ware and see what that does.


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Connections are at the same speed although the throughput seems to be more stable. Not as many hiccups. It is still suffering from the Xbox problem though. Shelving it & going back to my WNDR3700v2.

They better get their act together with this thing. I'm starting to smell a class action suit coming.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

OK now after the upgrade I am steady at a signal of 585Mbps on 5G. However this is with the new A6200 wirless adaptor.


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-03-01

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

So far so good. I updated the firmware yesterday morning and so far the 5GHz band has been stable. I have also noticed that my neighbors networks show stronger signals than they have before upgrading the firmware.

I'm not going to be sure this is really the fix until I see several days of 5GHz stability. It's been 4 months since I purchased this router and have not had a good experience with it up to now. When you purchase a product you shouldn't have to wait 4 months to have the useability you purchased it for in the first place. I just hope this fixes the problem once and for all.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Quick question. What colors are the bottom LED's suppose to be with the new firmware? Or what are your user experiences?
Discussion Stats
  • 34 replies
  • 9271 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 11 in conversation
Top Contributors