Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-08-29

Port 520

GRC's Shields Up test shows that TCP Port 520 (Extended File Name Server) is closed but not hidden. Is there a setting w/i the R6300 to hide this port from port scanning applications?

I only have one router so I have no idea why I'm seeing this.
"The descent to hell is easy. The gates stand open day and night. But to reclimb the slope to the upper air: this is labor" -- Virgil, Aeneid, Book 6

________________________________

NETGEAR products:



(1) NETGEAR R6300v1

(1) NETGEAR R6300v2
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,461
Registered: ‎2008-04-22

Re: Port 520

No setting. Turn off UPNP if on and check for apps running on your devices.

Look under UPNP it might show the device IP using that port.

Are you using MAC by chance?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Port 520

Here is similar incident

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=81550

May want to check your devices behind that may using it
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-08-29

Re: Port 520

searay wrote:
No setting. Turn off UPNP if on and check for apps running on your devices.

Look under UPNP it might show the device IP using that port.

Are you using MAC by chance?


I have an iMac, if that's what you mean. I'm running two VMs (Windows XP Pro and Windows 7 Pro) through Parallels 9 and wonder if that may have something to do with it.
"The descent to hell is easy. The gates stand open day and night. But to reclimb the slope to the upper air: this is labor" -- Virgil, Aeneid, Book 6

________________________________

NETGEAR products:



(1) NETGEAR R6300v1

(1) NETGEAR R6300v2
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Port 520

Unlikely the O/S is the issues but any application can request with uPnP is enabled.


Using wireshark will quicker to see if any application is requesting it
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-08-29

Re: Port 520

I'm currently using Wireshark to see what I can find. Nothing found yet after 15 minutes of captures.
"The descent to hell is easy. The gates stand open day and night. But to reclimb the slope to the upper air: this is labor" -- Virgil, Aeneid, Book 6

________________________________

NETGEAR products:



(1) NETGEAR R6300v1

(1) NETGEAR R6300v2
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,461
Registered: ‎2008-04-22

Re: Port 520

When I searched this problem I found a article that suggested that MAC's had been found to use this port as your OP suggested.

Easy enough to find out turn mac off run test again.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2013-09-07

Re: Port 520

RoodAwakening wrote:
GRC's Shields Up test shows that TCP Port 520 (Extended File Name Server) is closed but not hidden. Is there a setting w/i the R6300 to hide this port from port scanning applications?

I only have one router so I have no idea why I'm seeing this.


RIP uses that port. Check your router to see if RIP Version, under Advanced->Setup->LAN Setup, has changed from Disabled. I found this out accidentally, when I flashed to an earlier firmware version and played around with the settings.

I just tried it before posting this and when you set it to RIP Vers 1 or Vers 2, it will show up in GRC.com. A reboot is necessary after disabling it!
Discussion Stats
  • 7 replies
  • 3958 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Top Contributors