Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2010-12-14

R6200?

Any experiences with the Netgear R6200 router? I noticed it is now for sell at several of the online retailers. Reviews are limited. No dedicated forum yet. I thought about trying one. I did not have much luck with the R6300.
Tutor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: R6200?

Should be fine just like my R6300.


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Apprentice
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: R6200?

Mark_K wrote:
Should be fine just like my R6300.


Looks like an r6300 without Genie and without Bridge configuration. Correct?
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Tutor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: R6200?

it still has Genie but has one less usb port and is slower.


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Highlighted
Virtuoso
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎2011-01-06

Re: R6200?

If you are talking about the Genie web interface. The R6200 has that. If you are talking about the downloadable Netgear Genie application, the R6200 supports that.

However... The R6300 will support the Genie App Marketplace, which the R6200 will not due to the smaller amount of FLASH RAM. Right now the only model I think that has public released firmware for the Genie App support is the WNR3500Lv2. You can look @ the Marketplace here: https://genie.netgear.com/
Discussion Stats
  • 4 replies
  • 3566 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Top Contributors