Reply
Contributor
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎2011-01-30

R6300 V1 vs V2?

Has there been any changes on the inside? different CPU? Just still trying to decide if it's worth the upgrade from V1.
R7000 (present)

Dlink DIR-868L (2 weeks)

Asus RT-AC68U (5 days)

Linksys EA6900 (7 days)

R6300v2 (7 month)

R6300v1 (1 year)

RT-N56U (1 year)

WNDR3700 (1 year)

Dlink DIR-655 (1 year)
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2013-07-29

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

Double ram (256MB) Dual Core cpu (@ 800MHz) Reduced overall size
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

In my opinion it is not worth it if you have v1 now.


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Contributor
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎2011-01-30

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

So decided to try it out and just got one from BestBuy. Yeah, it has USB 3.0 and it's smaller, but I see no difference in speed or range really, perhaps it's a good thing. I might keep it though, since it's probably going to get more firmware updates vs V1.
R7000 (present)

Dlink DIR-868L (2 weeks)

Asus RT-AC68U (5 days)

Linksys EA6900 (7 days)

R6300v2 (7 month)

R6300v1 (1 year)

RT-N56U (1 year)

WNDR3700 (1 year)

Dlink DIR-655 (1 year)
Regular Contributor
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎2006-12-04

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

klas1 wrote:
So decided to try it out and just got one from BestBuy. Yeah, it has USB 3.0 and it's smaller, but I see no difference in speed or range really, perhaps it's a good thing. I might keep it though, since it's probably going to get more firmware updates vs V1.


The V1 will be supported still but development has/is slowing down a lot for it.

One of the things different with the v2 is the CPU architect and it requires totally different type of FW base. All of the new routers going forward will be using the same architect of the v2.

That said, while the v2 is better hardware and smaller it's not really worth an upgrade from a V1 alone as you won't see much improvement.

It's also worth to mention that V1 and V2 CAN be bridged together if one wanted.

The v2 also uses less power and as a result smaller PSU.
Contributor
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎2011-01-30

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

Well, actually V2 handles the busy network with a lot of HD streams much better. I always felt that V1 was chocking occasionally. Looks like V2 is a keeper after all.
R7000 (present)

Dlink DIR-868L (2 weeks)

Asus RT-AC68U (5 days)

Linksys EA6900 (7 days)

R6300v2 (7 month)

R6300v1 (1 year)

RT-N56U (1 year)

WNDR3700 (1 year)

Dlink DIR-655 (1 year)
Newcomer
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-06-14

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

Cybercare wrote:
The V1 will be supported still but development has/is slowing down a lot for it.


This is sad to hear.

The least Netgear can do before reducing support is to fix the problems people are having with the latest firmware 1.0.2.68 for the R6300v1.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎2012-07-23

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

Have you contacted support about the issue? If you don't they wont know how extensive the issue is.


1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28
Newcomer
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-06-14

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

Never upgraded to the latest firmware. Since many people stated problems with it. I am still on 1.36 Just worried that since the R6300v2 is out. Version 1 will be pretty much left for dead. Wouldn't you want a firmware that enables beam forming without high ping times?
Contributor
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎2010-08-22

Re: R6300 V1 vs V2?

eXR3 wrote:
Never upgraded to the latest firmware. Since many people stated problems with it. I am still on 1.36

Wouldn't you want a firmware that enables beam forming without high ping times?


Yes I would but high ping times vs beam forming is a no brainer
Discussion Stats
  • 22 replies
  • 34326 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 12 in conversation
Top Contributors