Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2012-06-25

R6300 vs the N900

So I'm in the market for a new router and was trying to decided between these two. I do a lot of very network-intensive operations like large file uploads and play a lot of online games through Playstation Network and Xbox Live. Which of these 2 routers is better suited for someone like myself? I know the R6300 has better speeds, but it runs off of 802.11ac, and most of my devices are using 802.11n. Does that make a difference? And besides price point, is there a reason why I should choose the N900 instead of the 6300?

Thanks again!
- Ian
Newcomer
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-12-05

Re: R6300 vs the N900

Ian-I ran my residential network on the N900 for the last 8 months. It ran well, stable, and with the firmware upgrades really shined. I just purchased the R6300 router and it performs much better, particulary on the 5 ghz wireless. The gigabit wired network is fine as well. If I were faced with the decision right now, I definitely go with the r6300 and flash it to the 1.0.0.14 firmware immediately and then configure. Mine is excellent and I have some complexity to my network and it handles it with aplomb.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: R6300 vs the N900

Staples has an e-bag promotion going on... 15% of almost everything, including routers. Makes the r6300 $170 and the WNDR4500 $136, OR $34 difference (plus tax)
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎2011-11-19

Re: R6300 vs the N900

CSM746,

Can you tell me if the the new model has more schedules for filters?

-
David T.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: R6300 vs the N900

Alnico wrote:
CSM746,

Can you tell me if the the new model has more schedules for filters?

-
David T.


Not sure I know what you mean by filters, but it appears to me that the scheduler is the same as other netgear routers.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: R6300 vs the N900

MoreThanLuck wrote:
So I'm in the market for a new router and was trying to decided between these two. I do a lot of very network-intensive operations like large file uploads and play a lot of online games through Playstation Network and Xbox Live. Which of these 2 routers is better suited for someone like myself? I know the R6300 has better speeds, but it runs off of 802.11ac, and most of my devices are using 802.11n. Does that make a difference? And besides price point, is there a reason why I should choose the N900 instead of the 6300?

Thanks again!
- Ian


Definitely go with the r6300. I'm running V1.0.2.10_1.0.21 with WMM turned off.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2012-06-25

Re: R6300 vs the N900

Ok, just a few final questions.
I realize the R6300 could be fast if it's utilizing the 802.11ac, but obviously there's very little that utilizes that at this point in time. So my main question is would the transition to 802.11ac be a hardware upgrade, or a software upgrade? Meaning could my existing devices come to support it or would I have to upgrade the components for them to use it?
Also, the R6300 is backwards compatible, but does that mean it just uses the 802.11n channel, or can the 5ghz channel use 802.11n also? Meaning would both channels be in use or only the 2.4 ghz channel be active? Finally, which of those routers would be better for gaming? I do a ton of online gaming on ever system, and want the best connection I can get.
Thanks everyone.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2010-12-14

Re: R6300 vs the N900

I have had both. Tried to replace my N900 with R6300. R6300 worked well for about three hours and then I lost 5 GHz connections. I could not reconnect them, even after rebooting router several times. Went back to N900, and all is well. R6300 has about a 20-25% stronger 5 GHz signal than the N900. The N900 is a good router. I have two xbox 360's and a PS3, sometimes all gaming at the same time, and I have lag free gaming on all three with the N900. I think the R6300 will also be good, but I suspect there will be some early growing pains for some, as the firmware matures. I returned my R6300 today...sticking with the N900 for a while.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: R6300 vs the N900

dsring wrote:
I have had both. Tried to replace my N900 with R6300. R6300 worked well for about three hours and then I lost 5 GHz connections. I could not reconnect them, even after rebooting router several times. Went back to N900, and all is well. R6300 has about a 20-25% stronger 5 GHz signal than the N900. The N900 is a good router. I have two xbox 360's and a PS3, sometimes all gaming at the same time, and I have lag free gaming on all three with the N900. I think the R6300 will also be good, but I suspect there will be some early growing pains for some, as the firmware matures. I returned my R6300 today...sticking with the N900 for a while.


I think the problem is hardware, not firmware. I had similar problems with my first 6300... second one is working fine.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: R6300 vs the N900

madhatter wrote:
I think the problem is hardware, not firmware. I had similar problems with my first 6300... second one is working fine.


second 6300 is now acting strangely on 5GHz
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Discussion Stats
  • 9 replies
  • 14520 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors