Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS 204 - Access Denied after Windows 10 update

Big_B
Aspirant

ReadyNAS 204 - Access Denied after Windows 10 update

I have been using a ReadyNAS 204 for a few months with no problems. My system has two Windows 10 (64bit) computers connected to the ReadyNAS.  A few days ago, one of the computers received a Windows 10 update to version 1703, OS Build 15063.447. My scheduled backups no longer work. Doing a bit of checking, I find that when I go to the settings on my ReadyNAS Backup page, and do a "Test Connection", I get an "Access Denied-Invalid User Name or Password".  This is true for every backup on the Windows 10 updated computer.  The second computer has not yet been updated, and the "Test Connection" works for the backups on that machine (as do the backups themselves).  All of the share information on the updated computer appears correct.  I have rebooted both the NAS and the affected computer to no avail. 

Model: RN204|ReadyNAS204
Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
Big_B
Aspirant

Re: ReadyNAS 204 - Access Denied after Windows 10 update

Thank you StephenB for your comment about checking access.  I started doing as you suggested, and somewhere along the line noticed a  comment about "Password Protected Sharing" being on, and how if I wanted to change that I had to use the "Network and Sharing Center."  So I went there (to the "Network and Sharing Center") and started looking around.  I eventually got to the "All Networks" area and found the "Password Protected Sharing" area where, lo and behold, "Password Protected Sharing" was turned on.  So I turned off "Password Protected Sharing" and guess what?--my backups now work!!

So in a nutshell, the Windows 10 update apparently turned on "Password Protected Sharing" and the only thing necessary to fix the issue is to turn it off.

Thanks to all.

View solution in original post

Message 10 of 15

All Replies
StephenB
Guru