Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎2009-08-22

Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

Just bought 1x 1GB stick of Kingston Value RAM,

Model: KVR333X64SC25/1G
Type: SO-DIMM

Shows up perfectly as:
Memory: 1024 MB [2.5-3-3-7]

NAS: ReadyNAS NV+ [X-RAID]
Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.7 [1.00a043]

Ran the onboard mem test app twice and passed.
Model: ReadyNAS Pro Pioneer Edition [X-RAID2] - Firmware: RAIDiator 4.2.23 | Model: ReadyNAS NV+ [X-RAID] - Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.7 [1.00a043]
Memory: 2x Kingston Value RAM KVR667D2N5/1G [2GB @ 4-5-5-15 DDR2] ...| Memory: 1x Kingston Value RAM KVR333X64SC25/1G [1GB @ 2.5-3-3-7 DDR1]
Disks: Western Digital Red 2TB WD20EFRX-68AX9N0 (FW: 80.00A80) [x6] ..... | Disks: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB WD20EARS-00MVWB0 [x3] w/IDLE3 set to 300s
Previous Disks: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB ST31500341AS [x6] .......... | Disks: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB WD20EARX-00PASB0 [x1] w/IDLE3 set to 300s
CPU Fan: Zalman USA ZMOP1 Slim Fan
SYS Fan: Noiseblocker NB-eLoop B12-4 Ultra Silent Bionic Blade Fan ................. | SYS Fan: Noctua NF-B9-1600
Previous SYS Fan: Noctua NF-P12-1300 Nine Blade SSO Bearing Fan
UPS: APC Back-UPS CS 650 .....................................................................................| UPS: APC Back-UPS CS 650
Aspirant
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎2008-04-08

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

TechZ,

I have also installed the same strip of memory in my ReadyNAS Duo and all the problems with lack of response and web interface disconnections have disappeared. I was lucky it was a strip left over from a Laptop upgrade
A ReadyNAS newbie but 6 years with Netgear comms products
Aspirant
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎2009-08-22

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

DerekGCWhite wrote:
TechZ,

I have also installed the same strip of memory in my ReadyNAS Duo and all the problems with lack of response and web interface disconnections have disappeared. I was lucky it was a strip left over from a Laptop upgrade


I use Kingston ValueRAM in both my ReadyNAS products, no trouble so far. Smiley Happy
Model: ReadyNAS Pro Pioneer Edition [X-RAID2] - Firmware: RAIDiator 4.2.23 | Model: ReadyNAS NV+ [X-RAID] - Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.7 [1.00a043]
Memory: 2x Kingston Value RAM KVR667D2N5/1G [2GB @ 4-5-5-15 DDR2] ...| Memory: 1x Kingston Value RAM KVR333X64SC25/1G [1GB @ 2.5-3-3-7 DDR1]
Disks: Western Digital Red 2TB WD20EFRX-68AX9N0 (FW: 80.00A80) [x6] ..... | Disks: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB WD20EARS-00MVWB0 [x3] w/IDLE3 set to 300s
Previous Disks: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB ST31500341AS [x6] .......... | Disks: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB WD20EARX-00PASB0 [x1] w/IDLE3 set to 300s
CPU Fan: Zalman USA ZMOP1 Slim Fan
SYS Fan: Noiseblocker NB-eLoop B12-4 Ultra Silent Bionic Blade Fan ................. | SYS Fan: Noctua NF-B9-1600
Previous SYS Fan: Noctua NF-P12-1300 Nine Blade SSO Bearing Fan
UPS: APC Back-UPS CS 650 .....................................................................................| UPS: APC Back-UPS CS 650
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-06-02

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

I'm a real newb to the ReadyNas community. I purchased an NV+ a couple months ago and it's been running smoothly(there were some unresolved issues with permissions being part of a domain with AD). I decided it was time for an upgrade and I read good things about the Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G and I upgraded.

So far what is happening is that It will say "Booting, Please Wait..." and then it goes to another screen that just says "Booting" and freezes there. I've tried resetting the OS, doing a factory default, updating firmware from usb, and it still freezes at boot. I get no network connectivity and there are no HD leds lit. The power button is blinking at "booting, please wait..." and then solid at "booting". If it helps I have 3 Hitachi 2TB drives installed and working with a lot of data!

I have to reinstall the original memory to get it to boot so this leads me to believe I have bad memory. What boggles my mind is that I have run 2 memory tests on both sticks of ram and both pass.

If anyone can help, many thanks in advance!
Aspirant
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎2009-08-22

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

darwinshafter wrote:
I'm a real newb to the ReadyNas community. I purchased an NV+ a couple months ago and it's been running smoothly(there were some unresolved issues with permissions being part of a domain with AD). I decided it was time for an upgrade and I read good things about the Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G and I upgraded.

So far what is happening is that It will say "Booting, Please Wait..." and then it goes to another screen that just says "Booting" and freezes there. I've tried resetting the OS, doing a factory default, updating firmware from usb, and it still freezes at boot. I get no network connectivity and there are no HD leds lit. The power button is blinking at "booting, please wait..." and then solid at "booting". If it helps I have 3 Hitachi 2TB drives installed and working with a lot of data!

I have to reinstall the original memory to get it to boot so this leads me to believe I have bad memory. What boggles my mind is that I have run 2 memory tests on both sticks of ram and both pass.

If anyone can help, many thanks in advance!


Memtests aren't 100% perfect. And perhaps your NV+ is a different revision that mine? Perhaps just RMA'ing it and trying another stick will sort it out Smiley Happy
Model: ReadyNAS Pro Pioneer Edition [X-RAID2] - Firmware: RAIDiator 4.2.23 | Model: ReadyNAS NV+ [X-RAID] - Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.7 [1.00a043]
Memory: 2x Kingston Value RAM KVR667D2N5/1G [2GB @ 4-5-5-15 DDR2] ...| Memory: 1x Kingston Value RAM KVR333X64SC25/1G [1GB @ 2.5-3-3-7 DDR1]
Disks: Western Digital Red 2TB WD20EFRX-68AX9N0 (FW: 80.00A80) [x6] ..... | Disks: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB WD20EARS-00MVWB0 [x3] w/IDLE3 set to 300s
Previous Disks: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB ST31500341AS [x6] .......... | Disks: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB WD20EARX-00PASB0 [x1] w/IDLE3 set to 300s
CPU Fan: Zalman USA ZMOP1 Slim Fan
SYS Fan: Noiseblocker NB-eLoop B12-4 Ultra Silent Bionic Blade Fan ................. | SYS Fan: Noctua NF-B9-1600
Previous SYS Fan: Noctua NF-P12-1300 Nine Blade SSO Bearing Fan
UPS: APC Back-UPS CS 650 .....................................................................................| UPS: APC Back-UPS CS 650
Aspirant
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎2010-02-07

Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

If memory serves me correctly I think Kingston changed their chips on the RAM. Unfortunately the model number remained the same and the newer style chips aren't compatible.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-06-02

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

Well... I appreciate the help. I will shipping it back to Newegg.

Thanks!
Aspirant
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎2010-02-07

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

Try the Corsair VS1GSDS333 stick. I've had good success with that model and it's $10 cheaper than the Kingston model at Newegg.
Aspirant
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎2009-08-15

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

fbmachines wrote:
Try the Corsair VS1GSDS333 stick. I've had good success with that model and it's $10 cheaper than the Kingston model at Newegg.


Is this the stick you are referring to?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... VS1GSDS333

I recently sent a defective NV+ back to Netgear and left my 1GB Crucial stick in there, not sure I can recover it, I've sent off emails to try.
In the mean time I'm looking at the replacement stick if I need to get one, so you are saying this Corsair stick has worked in your NV+?
Aspirant
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎2010-02-07

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

ChrisMc73 wrote:

Is this the stick you are referring to?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... VS1GSDS333


Yes, it is but it appears that Cosair changed something on the stick. Many newer posts are saying it won't boot with this updated stick in it.

viewtopic.php?f=110&t=31313
Aspirant
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎2009-08-15

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

Ok, so is there a stick that does for sure still work, today?
I was going to buy the original one I left in my RMA box, the Crucial brand, is that still ok?
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-08-19

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

ChrisMc73 wrote:
Ok, so is there a stick that does for sure still work, today?

+1

We've learned that the old Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G worked, but not the new ones, because they changed something.
And the old Corsair VS1GSDS333 worked, but not the new ones, because they changed something.
And from another thread, that the old Patriot Signature 1 GB SODIMM PC-2700 DDR-333 Memory Module -PSD1G33316S worked, but not the new ones, because they changed something.

Right now I'm trying to find the status on the Crucial CT12864X335 ... and from searching this forum, I can't find anything that indicates that it won't work. So I'll put my money on this one.
Aspirant
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎2011-02-23

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

TechZ wrote:
Just bought 1x 1GB stick of Kingston Value RAM,

Model: KVR333X64SC25/1G
Type: SO-DIMM

Shows up perfectly as:
Memory: 1024 MB [2.5-3-3-7]

NAS: ReadyNAS NV+ [X-RAID]
Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.7 [1.00a043]

Ran the onboard mem test app twice and passed.


HI, I'm planning to upgrade my NV+.Cound you share some advice with me?

My mem module shiped with my NV+ is of DDR400( I bought it early this year from amazon) and it works at 2.5-3-3-7 too!

I am so focused with the type of modules, dose it mean NV+ support either of them or DDR 333 is just enough.

Thanks.
Model: ReadyNAS NV+ [X-RAID]
Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.8 [1.00a043]
Memory: 1024 MB [2.5-3-3-7]
Volume C: Online, X-RAID, 3 disks, 47% of 3692 GB used

Disk 1 WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 1862 GB , 29 C / 84 F , Write-cache ON OK
Disk 2 WDC WD20EARS-22MVWB0 1862 GB , 30 C / 86 F , Write-cache ON OK
Disk 3 WDC WD20EARX-22PASB0 1862 GB , 29 C / 84 F , Write-cache ON OK
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-10-14

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

Hi,

Here is a HW compatibility list from Netgear about ReadyNas, it is not recent but have all compatible memory models listed.

http://www.docstoc.com/docs/35858999/readynas-Hardware-Compatibility-List

Eric
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-10-14

R

He is the details from an other site

http://readynas.su/compatibility_list/memory/

ReadyNAS NV/NV+/Duo
Можно использовать модули 200 pin DDR SO-DIMM. Инструкции по замене памяти в ReadyNAS NV/NV+ размещены здесь.

256 MB

■Aeneon PC2700S-2533-1 DDR333 CL2.5 256MB (8-Chip)
■Aeneon PC3200S-3033-1 DDR400 CL3 256MB (8-Chip)
■Apacer PC3200 CL3
■Infineon HYS64D32020HDL-6-C (8-Chip)
■ADATA ADFDB280400H (4-Chip) (added 5/15/06)
■VDATA Memory Expert VDFDB28040AH DDR333(2.5) 256MX4 (4-Chip)
512 MB

■Apacer PC3200 CL3
■Infineon HYS64D64020HDL-6-C (8-Chip)
■Kingston KVR400X64SC3A/512
■VDATA Memory Expert VDFDB290804H DDR333(2.5) 512MX8 (8-Chip)
1 GB

■Apacer PC3200 CL3
■Kingston KVR400X64SC3A/1G
■Patriot 1GB 200-Pin DDR SO-DIMM DDR 333 PEP1G2700SLL(PC 2700)
■Wintec PC2700-1G/Micron (#38299682) 2 RANK (16-Chip)
■Wintec PC3200-1G/Micron (#38290682) 2 RANK (16-Chip)
■Wintec PC3200-1G/Qimonda (#38290681) 2 RANK (16-Chip)
■Hynix HYMD512M646CFP8-J (16-Chip)
■I-O Data AP-SDD333-1G (16-Chip) MT16VDDF12864H)
■Crucial CT12864X335 (16-Chip 1GB) (Micron’s MT16VDDF12864H)
■NETGEAR 1GB SODIMM for NV/NV+ (16-Chip)
Aspirant
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎2009-02-28

Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

I leave this note as future reference and potential memory upgraders:

I have two NV+ running with Radiator 4.1.8.

One, I was able to sucessfully update with 1GB RAM (Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G). Memory test was passed successfully more than 4 times. The unit is runing smoothly.

The other one will pass the memory test (so far 5 or 6 times). But now the unit hangs while booting. First the blue power-LED will start to flash more slowly, then it will freeze - either off or in any of the intermediate on stages. THe display shows "Booting". The unit still works fine with the 256MB RAM.

I guess it only shows again what a gamble the memory upgrade is ... :shock:
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-07-28

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

Thank you SO much for posting this. I've had a ReadyNAS NV+ for about 5 years and ever since I upgraded the memory to a 1GB module from Crucial I had terrible performance (in FrontView, moving files, etc.). I just replaced my memory module with this specific Kingston module and BANG! everything is working perfectly. This means I don't need to spend $$$ to buy a new device (from Synology) -- at least, for a little while longer. I only wish I would have found this post earlier -- it would have saved me so much frustration and angst.
Aspirant
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎2006-03-24

Re: Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G 1GB DDR1 / PC 2700 / DDR 333

The 1GB Kingston KVR400X64SC3A/1G SODIMM in my NV has died. When I upgraded from 256MB, I kept the OEM SODIMM, so I could revert to that, but I also have one stick of Kingston KVR333X64SC25/1G I bought a few years back.

I tried out the KVR333 (which isn't on the HCL) when I first bought it, but the NAS was having periodic lockups so I replaced it with the KVR400 (which is on the HCL). It's run flawlessly ever since but it was the KVR400 that failed last night.

I had kept the KVR333, and used it to diagnose the failed KVR400. The NAS is running fine on the KVR333 at the moment, showing timings of [2.5-3-3-7]. I don't fancy having any more graceless shutdowns, but I'd also rather be on the 1GB SODIMM than the OEM 256MB.

So long story short, the lock-ups I was having with the KVR333 were five years (and many RAIDiator revisions) ago. And five years on, you guys seem to be having good success with the KVR333. Is it possible that those lock-ups might have been related to the old firmware, and that the new RAIDiator(s) cure the problem I was having earlier with the KVR333?

If there is no correlation, which is to say the lock-ups had nothing to do with the version of the firmware, I'd sooner go back to the OEM 256MB SODIMM and not risk any data corruption. Yeah, I could just wait and see but you only get to dodge the bullet so many times before it finally hits you in the tooches, and I'd rather not risk it.

TIA for your advice.
Discussion Stats
  • 17 replies
  • 1678 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 11 in conversation
Top Contributors