Reply
First Time Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-04-21

Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Good day everyone!

I have a question about the ReadyNAS Ultra 2 memory upgrade.
A couple of months ago I bought this new NAS for my home to backup, download and share files!
Today I’ve upgraded the memory of this NAS from 1 GB ASint Sodimm DDR3 1066 mhz to 2GB Corsair Sodimm DDR 1333 mhz.

2 Hours ago i started the memory test of this device, the pattern lit goes form
1. Disk 1 lit
2. Disk 2 lit
3. Power button lit
4. USB lit

I this the correct way to test my memory right, or is my memory bad?
I've searched this forum but i cannot find any information about the Ultra 2 to run memory test.

Thanks Alot!
Bye... :shock:
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 38,502
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

The memory test runs in a loop until it encounters a problem or is stopped. If still running after a few hours or so memory should be fine
First Time Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-04-21

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Dear mdgm,

Thank you very much for your anwser.
The memory test ran for about 10 hours straight without any problems, when I looked this morning the test still runs.
So I can tell my memory should be fine.

For people they want to upgrade they memory also:
Its Corsair Valueram DDR3 1066 mhz Sodimm CM3X2GSD1066

Thanks for your help!
First Time Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2011-05-29

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Here it is a DDR3 2 GB SODIMM from Samsung: M471B5773DH0-CH9. The memory test ran for hours now, memory should be fine.
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎2015-07-11

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Well...

Readynas Pro 2
I have tried both
Corsair Valueram DDR3 1066 mhz Sodimm CM3X2GSD1066 WITH 8 chips per side and
Kingston KVR1066D3S7/2G, also with 8 chips on each side.

Neither of them work.
When I start the nas, the fan just spins up and never slows down.
Only the power light lights up, all of the indicator lights stay dead.

So the quest goes on... well, maybe later Smiley Happy

brgds
Royan
First Time Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2011-05-29

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Royan wrote:
...
Readynas Pro 2
Should be the same hardware.
I have tried both
Corsair Valueram DDR3 1066 mhz Sodimm CM3X2GSD1066 WITH 8 chips per side and
Kingston KVR1066D3S7/2G, also with 8 chips on each side.
So you have 16 chips total on each module?
My working 2-GB-module has only 8 chips total.
I think this is the difference.
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎2015-07-11

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

yep,
and as far as I can tell, all the newer batches of CM3X2GSD1066 have 16 chips. Smiley Sad

brgds
Royan
First Time Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2011-05-29

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Royan wrote:
... all the newer batches of CM3X2GSD1066 have 16 chips. ...
That is the reason, why I prefer to buy my modules made by e.g. Samsung or Hynix: You can be sure you get always the same modules as long as you order the same part number.
Corsair, Kingston & Co sell different modules under the same part number.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2012-01-25

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Have any of you guys tried a 4gb memory module and had any success yet i have tried 1 so far and had no luck for upgrading the ram from 1gb to 4gb what was CT51264BC1067 Not Compatible but this was laid out as a 256 x 64 as it 2 x 8 cant see why it had that code as it should of been CT25664BC1067
Regular Contributor
Posts: 241
Registered: ‎2011-04-10

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

I want to upgrade the memory of my Ultra 2 to 4GB. Does anyone have any experience with this?
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors
User Kudos Count
1
1