× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: VPN Server 1.5 on ReadyNAS Ultra-4

JCosyn
Aspirant

VPN Server 1.5 on ReadyNAS Ultra-4

I'd like to run Poussin's vpnserver on my ReadyNAS Ultra-4 but I'm really at a loss, not being a Linux admin. I have downloaded the file vpnserver_1.5.0_all.deb but from there, I really don't know how to proceed. A search turns up a few posts about how to patch or upgrade an already-working VPN server installation, but I haven't been able to find any kind of guide with instructions on how to install it and get it running in the first place. The posts I see all assume I know I can ssh into my server as root, and I'm not entirely unfamiliar with basic user-level Linux commands, but I have no real experience with developer or admin-level work. I'm not afraid to do the work, but I don't know how to even begin.

Can anyone point me to a step-by-step guide detailing just what I have to do to get vpnserver installed and running on my ReadyNAS? 

Message 1 of 11
StephenB
Guru

What firmware are you running?

Message 2 of 11
JCosyn
Aspirant

RAIDiator 4.2.31  

I think that's the latest for the Ultra 4 device. So it tells me, at least.

Message 3 of 11
JCosyn
Aspirant

A typo on my OP: I meant to say that I can ssh into my server as root, and I do know how to use basic Linux commands (I can navigate and manipulate files, etc.). I've just never done package installations, so I kind of need a beginner-level step-by-step guide, if there is one out there somewhere.

Thanks for responding.

Message 4 of 11
StephenB
Guru

The .deb file you downloaded is for OS-6 systems (e.g., systems that run 6.x.x firmware).  So you can't install it on a 4.2.31 system.

Message 5 of 11
Sandshark
Sensei