× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS Pro 6: Ethernet1 stopped working at 1 Gbit; it only connects at 100 Mbit

CraftWorks
Aspirant

ReadyNAS Pro 6: Ethernet1 stopped working at 1 Gbit; it only connects at 100 Mbit

Hi all,

My ReadyNAS Pro 6 (the diskless version) has a problem: three days ago the Ethernet1 NIC stopped working at 1 Gb (as it should by default); it only connects at 100 Mb.

I know that it's an old model (I've been using it for 6 years now, bought on April 2013, with no problems whatsoever), but I'd like to understand what happened.

Here are some more details:

- 6 x Seagate ST3000DM001, 3TB, 7200RPM

- RAID level: X-RAID2

- hooked on my private network (192.168.xxx.xxx), so it's not accesible from the outside world

- FW: RAIDiator 4.2.31 (x86)

- NIC always used: Ethernet1

Additional facts:

- Ethernet2 connects at 1 Gb

- my data is still fully accesible through SMB

Actions done:

- NAS reboot: no change

- changed the network cable: no change

- changed the port of my Cisco switch: no change

- OS Reinstall: no change

I haven't yet done a Factory Default reset because I have to make a backup of my data first.

I think it might be a hardware problem, but I'd like to hear your opinions on this first.

Best regards,

CraftWorks

Model: RNDP6000|ReadyNAS Pro 6 Chassis only
Message 1 of 7
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS Pro 6: Ethernet1 stopped working at 1 Gbit; it only connects at 100 Mbit

One last thing you could try is powering down the NAS, removing the power cord for a while, (say 15 minutes) and then try powering it up again.  That sometimes will clear bios state that might be related to the problem.

But it sounds like it could be a hardware issue (potentially a loose connection or broken wire in the socket).

Message 2 of 7
CraftWorks
Aspirant

Re: ReadyNAS Pro 6: Ethernet1 stopped working at 1 Gbit; it only connects at 100 Mbit