× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Samba 4.1.17 for ReadyNAS Duo v1 (sparc)

bc732
Tutor

Samba 4.1.17 for ReadyNAS Duo v1 (sparc)

Hi all,

I just picked one of these old guys up for super cheap.  I kept finding posts where people were told that you couldn't get any newer versions of Samba on it, but I decided to try anyway. 

I ended up getting Samba 4.1.17 compiled and working with SMB3!

Note that I am not a developer or package maintainer, so I might not have gotten everything perfect.  For example, I ended up compiling Samba without CUPS support, because it was giving me a weird error when running ./configure.

Deb file here.

What I did to get it running:

Factory reset my ReadyNAS, which is running RAIDiator 4.1.16.

Ran through the setup wizard

Installed the addons for root SSH and apt

apt-get update
apt-get install --reinstall grep perl perl-modules apt-get remove samba-common libwbclient0 mkdir /run mkdir /run/samba mkdir /var/lib/samba/private dpkg -i samba_4.1.17-1_sparc.deb

Added this to [global] section of /etc/samba/smb.conf:

min protocol = smb2

and finally..

smbpasswd
/etc/init.d/samba restart

Then I had to re create my user in the web panel.

Then, boom.  SMB3

I still need to mess with the smb.conf, but everything seems to work, including adding shares with the web panel.

Speed seems comparable to the original, maybe a little faster.

Message 1 of 29
Sandshark
Sensei

If you have to "mess with" smb.conf and put things in it that the OS normally doesn't, then you could run into issues whever you do something that causes the NAS to re-write that.  So, just keep an eye out that your changes stay changed.

Message 2 of 29
bc732
Tutor

Good call.  Maybe add a separate config.

Message 3 of 29
Sandshark
Sensei