× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Ready NAS SCSI quit working after update to 6.7.5

doubleb53
Aspirant

Ready NAS SCSI quit working after update to 6.7.5

I have been running this ReadyNAS for about 3 months now without issues.  When I received it, I made sure to update it to the latest firmware.  I was notified that a new update was available, so I upgraded to the latest version of firmware 6.7.5 (after reading all upgrade materials) and now my ISCSI connection will not stay connected.  You can get it to connect, but after about 15 minutes the connection drops and goes into a reconnecting loop.  I have tried to reinstall the firmware, but that didn't help.  I am running 2012 R2 server and a 3 month old Netgear ReadyNAS with the above mentioned firmware.  Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks for the help.

BB

Model: RN21400|ReadyNAS 214 Series 4-Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
doubleb53
Aspirant

Re: Ready NAS SCSI quit working after update to 6.7.5

Here is what we discovered.  It turns out that if you turn on thin provisioning and you turn on snapshots the NAS will completely run itself out of space, even though the NAS will tell you there is space left.  Support told me that since the device thought it had 20% storage left and it really didn't, upgrading of the firmware caused the operating system to become corrupt.  This caused a big problem for me.  There was no way to recover the data if you are using an iSCSI connection and do not have a spare drive that has almost as much storage of your NAS is.  I did not and this resulted in all the data on the device being lost.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 7

All Replies
Marty_M
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hello doubleb53,