× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS 1100 - can't get it to power on

quinc
Aspirant

ReadyNAS 1100 - can't get it to power on

Hi

I am a software developer, and am pretty good with hardware and networking, but have never used a NAS before, so am looking to get some help please...

I bought 2 rack mountable ReadyNas 1000's from the company I work for after we moved to new offices. They each came with 4 * 750 gig drives.

I got them home, plugged power into one and switched it on using the switch next to the power cable socket. It started up with a blinking blue light and green flashing led's one drives 2 to 4. It stayed on for a few seconds then turned off. Since then, I can't get it to turn on again. I did notice that there is some flickering of the led's for LAN 1 and 2 on the front panel for a split second when I turn the power switch on, but nothing else.

The second unit does the same as the first. The network/hardware guy in my office told me that the NAS devices were both working when they were turned off last. I can't ask him for help because he has since passed away, and our network support is no longer done in-house. There is apparently a bad disk in one of them, but I don't know which drive it is.

My questions:

1. Should a NAS power up if I pull all the drives?

2. If there is a bad drive in one NAS, will that stop the whole thing from powering up?

3. Does the LAN cable have to be connected to allow the NAS to power up, or can it still power up without the LAN plugged in?

Thank you for any and all help in advance.

Message 1 of 4
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS 1100 - can't get it to power on

@quinc wrote:

1. Should a NAS power up if I pull all the drives?

Yes, but it won't fully boot.  The OS is on the drives

2. If there is a bad drive in one NAS, will that stop the whole thing from powering up?

Not usually, but it can.