× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS Pro 6 Corrupt Root - Need Help

MemphisT
Aspirant

ReadyNAS Pro 6 Corrupt Root - Need Help

I am new to ReadyNAS, I have never owned one and scouting through the Forums I've not found my problem in any detail to assist me start using the ReadyNAS.

I have just purchased off eBay a ReadyNAS Pro 6 with no disks or documentation.  I have worked out I need RAIDar, I have my 6 Disks (3TB) in the ReadyNAS (there on the HCL).

When I turn it on, in RAIDar it says Corrupt Root. It shows the model, IP address and all drives greyed out.

Looking through the forum I understand that I need to do something for the ReadyNAS to see the drives. I need to do something to be able to setup the disks in a RAID for RAIDar to see the ReadyNAS completely.  Also Admin page button on RAIDar says the page is not accessible.   The Browse Button opens my Documents...

Could someone tell me how I get the disks to be seen by the ReadyNAS and how to setup the RAID, RAID 6 is the advise I had to setup.   There has to a process to make the disks work with teh RaedyNAS

Can you keep it simple, I'm not that techno...?  Thank you

Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS Pro 6 Corrupt Root - Need Help

Begin by powering down and removing drive 6.  Then use the factory default boot option (instructions are on page 26 of the hardware manual here: http://www.readynas.com/download/documentation/HM/ReadyNAS_Ultra_UltraPlus_Pro_HW_13April11.pdf)

The reset will do a fresh out-of-the-box install onto the 5 disks (giving you xraid with single redundancy, which is the same as RAID-5).  All data on the disks will be removed.  When that completes, check the firmware version with Frontview, and updated it if it is old.