× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

AC1750 R6400V2 Slow with Centurylink Fiber

gkeRT2021
Guide

AC1750 R6400V2 Slow with Centurylink Fiber

I have been using this same Router for 2 years with Cox Cable Modem.  I paid for 150mbps/5mbps (Down/Up respectively).  I never got that speed, but it was fast enough so I didn't complain (30/5).

I just had CenturyLink Fiber installed a few days ago.  They guy left the CenturyLink C4000XG Modem/Router in my house so I could use it for comparison. I plan to return it, as I don't it since they said my Netgear router would work and was a better Wifi Router.

I have tested the speed using speedtest.net.  The C4000XG consistently gets over 200/200.

When I move the Cat6 from the C4000XG to my Netgear Router, the speed is about 90/9. This is less than 50% of the speed with the C4000XG for download and the upload is just pathetic.

I contacted CenturyLink and they were of no use saying I needed to contact Netgear.  I have searched google and these forums and cannot find any suggestions or solutions that work.  I did try changing out the Cat6 for 2 different cables with the same result.

Are there settings that need to change for a Fiber Specific Internet connection in order to take advantage of the higher speed?  

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Message 1 of 7
plemans
Guru

Re: AC1750 R6400V2 Slow with Centurylink Fiber

A couple things. 

1. the C4000XG is actually a much faster router than the R6400. The R6400 is an older base model gigabit device. The C4000XG is quite a bit newer, newer wifi protocol, and is going to be faster

2. If you're going C4000XG---->R64000 you're in a double nat. 

A double nat happens when you cascade more than 1 router.
https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT
Fixes? There’s 3 options but only use 1.