× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
× Introducing the new Orbi 770 Series Mesh System. To learn more click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973
Reply

Newbie question using extender?

pses530
Aspirant

Newbie question using extender?

Hello,

 

My router the N300 WNR2000v3  is  located in my basement  and the signal strength is low when multiply users are on the network.   Before I move it upstairs I wanted to ask about using the N300 wifi extender.  Is this a better option?

 

Also my routers firmware isn't the latest version should I update it ?

Model: WNR2000v3|N300 Wireless Router|EOL
Message 1 of 10

Accepted Solutions
pses530
Aspirant

Re: Newbie question using extender?

Hi michaelkenward

 

I picked up the R7000 last night.

 

Thank you for all your help.

 

Pete

View solution in original post

Message 10 of 10

All Replies

Re: Newbie question using extender?


@pses530 wrote:
Before I move it upstairs I wanted to ask about using the N300 wifi extender.  Is this a better option?

 


 

There are many N300 wifi extenders. That's a wifi speed standard.

 

If devices have trouble connecting to the basement wifi, maybe the extender will too if you plan to use it as wireless extender. Unless you plan to wire the two together and use it is an access point to broadcast the wifi.

 

One way to bring wifi to other places is to get a powerline device that also has an access point.

 


@pses530 wrote:

Also my routers firmware isn't the latest version should I update it ?


 

Yes.

 

Message 2 of 10
pses530
Aspirant

Re: Newbie question using extender?

Thanks michaelkenward

 

I do not know what a powerline device is or does.

 

The reason I was thinking of the extender is because latey when I open up firefox I get a can't connect to server error.  So I thought it was because my router was in basement.

 

However, I just called into to Netgear and was told my router is working fine the resaon it would sometimes show "can't connect to server" is because a setting in the router needs to be changed.

My ISP is Cox Communications and the Netgear Tech needed to know some numbers Cox uses whihc she said was a 3 or 4 digit code but the Tech wanted me to pay $140 for a 1 year subscription.  She then could take controll of my laptop and make the changes.   I told her I would rather put the money towards a new router then call back for the free 90 day support and have Netgear make changes then.

 

Would know happen to know what setting the tech was going to change?

 

Is it worth me changing out my 5 year old wnr2000v3 to a newer AC type model.

 

My household only surfs the net, we do connect phones, playstations and tv to wifi.

 

 

Message 3 of 10

Re: Newbie question using extender?


@pses530 wrote:

 

....the Tech wanted me to pay $140 for a 1 year subscription.  She then could take controll of my laptop and make the changes.   I told her I would rather put the money towards a new router then call back for the free 90 day support and have Netgear make changes then.


 

That scam! Outrageous. Netgear should be ashamed of itself. You should be able to get what you want here, and it is free.

 

The first thing to do is to update the firmware.

 

Read about doing that in the manual (see page 8):

 

>>> WNR2000v3 | Product | Support | NETGEAR <<<

 

The reset to the factory settings (page 36).

 

The firmware is on those pages too.

 

Before you do that make a note of the settings that Cox Communications uses for its network. (Usernames, passwords and the like.) Then you can feed that back in again after the reset.

 

The error you see in Firefox could be anything. Try the above before you spend any money. And see if you see the same thing in a different browser. If you don't it has nothing to do with the browser.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Message 4 of 10
pses530
Aspirant

Re: Newbie question using extender?

 

Thanks Michaelkenward.

 

I will try reseting the factory settings.

 

I was just at my local Best Buy checking out what I could put that $140 towards.

 

They have the Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 on sale for $160.

They also have a Linksys AC2600 on sales for $165.

 

The sales rep said both were very good. 

Message 5 of 10

Re: Newbie question using extender?

AC2600 and AC1900 are not Netgear model numbers. They are wifi speed things.

 

They stick those label on various modems and routers.

 

Be careful to pick one that does what you want.

 

Check the Netgear product pages and home in on something that meets your needs.

 

 

Message 6 of 10
pses530
Aspirant

Re: Newbie question using extender?

michaelkenward  here is what I meant for models.

 

I copied this from Best buy website.

 

  • Model: R7000-100NAS

 

I know I'm on a netgear communitity forum but ........they also have the Linksys with a bit higher speed rating  for only $5 more.

 

 
Message 7 of 10

Re: Newbie question using extender?

The make is your call. Another one with fans is Asus. I doubt if you would notice much speed difference.

 

The R7000 is a current generation router.The one you have dates back to 2010. The R7000 appeared at the end of 2015.

 

It should meet your needs. You might even get away with something cheaper.

 

If you sniff around here, you may find messages that will tell you how people get on with the R7000

 

You can check out the manual here:

 

>>>> R7000 | Product | Support | NETGEAR <<<<

 

What modem do you have? It shouldn't make a difference but it might be worth telling people so that they can warn you of any possible conflicts.

 

 

 

Message 8 of 10
pses530
Aspirant

Re: Newbie question using extender?

i really appreciate all the help Michaelkenward.

 

My modem i got from Cox Communications it is a Cisco model # DPQ3212  DOCSIS 3.0 EMTA.

 

Thanks for the tip on posting the model if it I would not want to have any issues if I decide to go with the R7000.

 

You mentioned the R7000 appeared in 2015  is this a newer model of this I should condier.

 

My house is small to medium size.  It will be used for websurfing, connected smartphones ,  TV and playstations 3 and 4 however, we do not play games online at this time.

 

 

Message 9 of 10
pses530
Aspirant

Re: Newbie question using extender?

Hi michaelkenward

 

I picked up the R7000 last night.

 

Thank you for all your help.

 

Pete

Message 10 of 10
Top Contributors
Discussion stats
  • 9 replies
  • 4027 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Announcements

Orbi 770 Series