× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Routers not recognizing DNS changes

mattsch
Guide

Routers not recognizing DNS changes

I am a web developer with matching R6260 routers at both my home and office.  Both connected to the same ISP.

In the past week I have made 3 changes to my client websites - 2 nameservers changes, and one A record change - and the changes have been very slow to be recognized.

One nameservers change that I applied on Friday is still not being recognized by either of my routers on Monday morning.  I can confirm that the change has propagated virtually everywhere, including my local ISP via NSLOOKUP.  I get the new site on my cellphone using mobile data.  But when connected to my Netgear routers, in both locations, I still see the old site.

The change that I made to a different site on Thursday was not available to my home computer until Sunday, and started resolving at my office sometime over the weekend (it was finally OK on Monday morning.)

I understand that TTL values come into play.  But when my local ISP has had the proper updated information for 24+ hours, how long should I expect my 192.168.1.1 to continue to route to the old value?

What is most concerning is that this is happening with both routers.  I've tried rebooting and applied a firmware upgrade, but the problem persists.  ipconfig /flushdns does not make any difference.

I've had these routers for some time and have never noticed an issue like this until this past week.

Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Will it clear it up? Unknown but its worth a shot. 

Its pretty easy to switch it back if it doesn't. 

Again, if you have ipv6 enabled, check that as well. 

What modem/gateway is it connected to? 

You can also make a backup if you think it might corrupt something. 

View solution in original post

Message 7 of 9

All Replies
plemans
Guru