× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

GS108PEv3 setup problems

biba
Aspirant

GS108PEv3 setup problems

Hi there,

I am having problems setting up a GS108PEv3 and a JGS516PE network switch. The 8 port switch is for staff accomodation, the 16 port one for the main building.

I am looking to connect five ethernet cables, running from downstairs to the five staff rooms upstairs, to the switch. I connected the switch to the router, also connecting it to a laptop which has the ProSafe Plus utility installed. Here's where my problems begin. The utility cannot locate the switch. I checked the router configuration (Brightbox 2) but cannot find the switch IP.

The switch is powering up but I have no other means of verifying that it is working correctly.

I am not experienced with setting up switches and my problems might be easily addressed ... hoping that someone can help me out.

Kind regards,
Benjamin

Model: GS108PEv3|ProSAFE Gigabit Plus Switch with PoE
Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: GS108PEv3 setup problems

Excellent points @Nodism1125!

In case neither the Netgear Switch Discovery Tool nor the ProSAFE Plus Utility (which requires the installation of a packet capturing driver) aren't able to discover the switches even if connected direct (computer - switch - router) there might be some Internet "security" thinge blocking the required network traffic in the computer.

View solution in original post

Message 5 of 6

All Replies
schumaku
Guru

Does a similar set-up work when plugged together with just some patch cords near to the router on a desk?

Switches powered by the power supply, the per device Power, PoE Power Status LED are on?

Each switch port has two Speed/Link/Activity LED. The Ethernet links are coming up at all? 

Any PoE devices connected and powered by these switches?

Message 2 of 6
biba
Aspirant

Hi schumaku,

To answer your questions: