× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to determine which switch works best for you?

pdaalder
Aspirant

How to determine which switch works best for you?

Hi,

I found the tool at the netgear site to help narrow down the list of switches, and then I'm still confused.

First, I'm new to the switches.

The requirements I have are

• The switch I would like to purchase is for home use.
  • The house has a 24 patch panel (not all ports are used).
  • I have currently planned 10 PoE devices
  • I would like to group addresses to disconnect the IP camera from the internet and from my main network.

I found

• JGS524PE 24port (12 PoE)
  • S350 24port PoE+ (24 PoE)
  • GS108T 200 GES

There where more but I randomly selected these 3.

My question to you is: What is the difference between all these devices? Ok JGS524 has only 12 PoE ports, but I guess there are more differences. How can I decided is a device is a match for my needs?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Peter

Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: How to determine which switch works best for you?

Hello Peter.

Please evaluate the PoE requirements further. Most "simple" PoE IEEE 802.3af (not talking of PoE+ IEEE 802.3at and the new 4PoE IEEE 802.3bt) request - even if there are different power classes - request and reserve the full 15.4 W on the PoE switch. The available PoE power on smaller switches is limited, and does not have to comply with the number of PoE ports. The mentioned JGS524PE does have 12 PoE (802.11af) ports, but a max power budget of 100 Watts. Say you try to connect 12 simple wireless AP like a WAC505/510, you will find that only six will be powered (6 * 15.4 W == 92.4 W), even if the effective required power is way less - but the lower power classes are not sufficient to power it under all conditions.