× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: WN203 doesn't get proper IP allocation from router when using VLAN 1 wireless connection

DonD
Guide

WN203 doesn't get proper IP allocation from router when using VLAN 1 wireless connection

Using an FVS318N router and WN203 access point, I'm setting up a church network to support church staff on VLAN 1 and wireless guest connections on VLAN 2.  When I connect wirelessly to the access point on the VLAN 1 connection, then do an ipconfig, the router assigned IP is not what I expected.  Expected 192.168.1.2, but get 169.254.76.78.  Works okay if I connect wirelessy to the access point on the VLAN 2 connection, then do an ipconfig, and get expected 192.168.2.51.

Here are some screen shots:

Capture.JPG

Capture2.JPG

Capture3.JPG

Capture4.JPG

Capture5.JPG

Capture6.JPG

Capture7.JPGCapture8.JPG

Capture9.JPG

Capture10.JPG

Capture11.JPG

I'm new to using VLAN's and sure would appreciate some help with this.

Thanks in advance.

Don

Message 1 of 12

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: WN203 doesn't get proper IP allocation from router when using VLAN 1 wireless connection

Hi DonD,

Kindly try the following:

a. Update the firmware of your GS108Ev3 from v2.00.05 to v2.00.07.  Make sure to perform a factory reset on the GS108Ev3 after a successful firmware upgrade then reconfigure it from scratch.  You may download the latest firmware v2.00.07 here.

b. If ever the firmware of the WN203 is not the latest version, kindly update it as well to v2.0.11 then perform a factory reset on it after a successful firmware upgrade and reconfigure it from scratch.  You may download the the latest firmware v2.0.11 here.

c. Since you mentioned that you have other WN203, then kindly try to set it up to further isolate the problem.