× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

trunking two switches but only one vlan working

TomZeee
Aspirant

trunking two switches but only one vlan working

I'm a noob to VLANs beyond basics so hopefully someone can help with this simple setup. I just can't see the mistake in trying to setup two VLANs between two managed switches (Netgear GS305E and D-Link DGS-110-08 with port 5 and 1 trunked). I have one of the VLANs (VLAN 20) working but not VLAN 1.  I omitted all other ports to simplify:

netgear:
  VLAN 1:  port 1 removed, 2 untagged, 5 tagged (so VLAN 1 is only on port 2 and trunk via 5)
  VLAN 20: port 1 untagged, 2 removed, 5 tagged (so VLAN 20 is only on port 1 and trunk via 5)
  PVID:
     port 1: VLAN 20
     port 2: VLAN 1
     port 5: VLAN 1

d-link:
  VLAN 1: port 2 removed,  4 untagged,  1 tagged (so trunk should be on port 1)
  VLAN 20: port 2 untagged,  4 removed,  1 tagged
  PVID:
     port 1: VLAN 1
     port 2: VLAN 20
     port 4: VLAN 1

In this configuration I have VLAN 20 working but not VLAN 1 (should be default) on the netgear switch. What am I doing wrong?

If I plug in port 5 on on netgear (so the trunked port)  to port 4 (VLAN 1) on the other switch then it works, I can see VLAN 1 on the netgear switch.

Tom

Model: GS305E|5 Port Gigabit Ethernet Smart Managed Plus Switch
Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
TomZeee
Aspirant

Re: trunking two switches but only one vlan working

Turns out the solution was to factory reset the D-Link switch.  Not sure what it was doing but no matter what I tried (including the suggestion) didn't work.