Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-01-01

My device stopped working. Help!

Hi all.

So I recently unboxed the EVA2000 and hooked it up to the screen. Everything was working fine and I tested a YouTube video to make sure. I then did hard reset (By holding the power button for 8 seconds) and when it come back, this is what happens:

1. My Main Menu consists of only 3 categories:
-My Collection
-Internet TV
-Settings

2. Choosing My Collection or Internet TV doesn't work, instead it automatically highlights Settings for me.

I have done restorations to factory settings, power off and on, I tried everything. The Client Version I have is 4.0.0.14.2.3.9 and here's an interesting part, right under the Client Version is "Server Version" and I remember at one point it was "4.3.x.x.x.x" but now it has changed to "6.0.x.x.x.x".

Does the server version mean the latest client version? If so, how do I update the client version?
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-01-01

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

Also to note a few things:
When pressing the Search button on the remote, I successfully can search through the different video streaming websites. However, despite results showing from youtube channels, when clicking on any youtube video, I get the following error "Title not accessible at this time. Please try again later". Other video streaming providers work fine (DailyMotion, HBO, MSN, etc).

Hooking an External hard disk works fine too.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-14

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

did you ever solve this as I have the same problem with a newly purchased unit.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-01-01

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

I'm going back and forth with the Netgear support center to solve this issue. So far nowhere.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-22

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

Solid0Snake wrote:
I'm going back and forth with the Netgear support center to solve this issue. So far nowhere.


Having exact same issue -- tried to open a support ticket and got:

We regret to inform, Your Request Could not be processed at the moment due to technical difficulties.... Please try again later.

Wow, does Netgear really think that in this market, with linksys, belkin, and a host of others breathing down their market share's neck, that they can get away with such unmitigated crap for support?
Highlighted
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-02-28

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

I'm facing the same problem .. I've tried to update the firmware and after the attempt, the menu itens disappear ... I'm sure that was the connection to the server made this ... Please .. anyone .. I waited for 2 years until the subtitle issues were OK .. and now .. another problem ...
EVA2000
My Collection
Internet Video
Settings


Tks ...

Luiz
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-04-11

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

i have the exact same issue, i have 3 of these boxes and they all loose almost all functionality as soon as they connect to the internet,
i found this link:

http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2649/~/gpl-open-source-code-for-programmers

maybe someone can figure out a way to fix or roll back with the code...
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2012-04-25

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

Did anyone get any joy.... I have the same issue .... Only able to access the settings menu and not My Collections or Internet.
There is absolutely no point in having this device if this is all that it can do.
Netgear must be in breach of their basic responsibilities... Selling a product that just doesn't work.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-05-03

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

Since so many people are having this problem I don't understand why a Netgear moderator does not answer this question.

I called for support and they said I needed to fax my sales receipt which unfortunately I don't have. Then they hung up on me.
Sage
Posts: 25,758
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: My device stopped working. Help!

JoeyG wrote:
Since so many people are having this problem I don't understand why a Netgear moderator does not answer this question.

I called for support and they said I needed to fax my sales receipt which unfortunately I don't have. Then they hung up on me.
You could try opening an on-line support case at http://support.netgear.com/app/contact
Discussion Stats
  • 15 replies
  • 20789 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 13 in conversation
Top Contributors