× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Nighthawk A7000 wireless adapter & Genie/ Nighthawk app

TEXASCITIZEN
Aspirant

Nighthawk A7000 wireless adapter & Genie/ Nighthawk app

**The issue is Downloading Nighthawk Genie or its successor for PC.  I have a Nighthawk wireless adapter (A7000) which I have been using for 2-3 years with Win 10 on my desktop.  I bought a new Dell computer with Win 11.  The Dell transfer program that moved my items from the old to new computer did not move a good copy of the Nighthawk Genie.  I used my original CD to install Nighthawk on my new PC but it did not download a copy of Genie.

I can't find a Genie download & the internet says that Genie is no longer used & Nighthawk app is the new program.  When I try to download Nighthawk app I get referred to the Apple or Google store which is for IOS or Android devices but I have a PC running Win 11.  (At the Apple store they ask if the download is for an iPad or iPhone & with Google, since I don't have an Android device, it says I have no supported device.)   I have found a Nighthawk app for PC but the download comes in RAR form which my computer can't understand.  I downloaded a zip program from the store which said it worked with RAR, I think it was 7zip (?), but in the end when I clicked on the download nothing happened to open the download.

How can I get a working copy of Genie or a copy of the Nighthawk app which will work on a PC without to many complications.  This whole situation is getting frustrating.

Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Re: Nighthawk A7000 wireless adapter & Genie/ Nighthawk app

download the file from netgear from here: 

https://www.netgear.com/support/product/A7000.aspx

then extract it. If its windows, just right click on the file and use windows by right clicking on it and going to extract all.