× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

A point in right direction to educate myself on UnManaged switch

Bblitz8
Aspirant

A point in right direction to educate myself on UnManaged switch

I'm new to the switch thing and I bought a GS108V4 to add more lan lines and to run another wireless access point. I'm hung up on not wanting to run a straight line and want to make 3-4 separate groups. I have 3 lan off my wifi6 router but only want to use 2. Should I use my switch in-between the modem and router or use a older router as a switch in-between the 2? And I really don't know much about managed and unmanaged but from what I have read on so far I'm thinking I bought the wrong one thinking I was able to put different securities on the unmanaged switch I thought the managed had all the security preloaded on it can you still mess with the security on and on managed switched through an IP? I can't seem to figure out how somebody keeps getting into my network even with nothing hooked up to any internet and changing my system and apps as hope and throwing a switch on there in a few access points and separate and things might solve the problem. Thanks in advance.
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: A point in right direction to educate myself on UnManaged switch

Neither your router (wild guess) nor the switch does support a correct isolation of such two networks. Just different IP subnets don't bring any network segregation. Where do you intend to run any kind of routing? It's not so simple as the school theory implies.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 5

All Replies
schumaku
Guru

Even if your router does offer multiple network ports, if your old re-purposed router has multiple network ports, if your un-manged switch offers multiple ports: Most consumer and soho devices operate on one network, one LAN, one IP subnet, one broadcast domain.  

Message 2 of 5