× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: What's the proper set up for my Netgear JGS524

Homeuser66
Guide

What's the proper set up for my Netgear JGS524

Hi, I am new to the networking aspect of computers. I have an:

AT&T Gateway (5031nv)

Asus Router (RT-AC68U)

DirecTV GenieGo

WD 4TB MY Cloud

My current set up is From AT&T gateway I have 1 line feeding into my Netgear Switch, and another line going to my ASUS Router which has my DirecTV GenieGo hooked up to . Then I have everything else hooked up into the Netgear. 

My question is, should I just have everything go into the Netgear, and then everything would be on the same network? I only have 1 issue right now and I did a work around for it, but I had my wireless printer working before for all PC's and devices, now it won't. I had to revamp my room and unhooked everything and don't remember how I origianlly had it set up, but this is kinda working for me other than the printer part.

If you need a diagram, I'll draw one if need be, but be warned, I'm not an artist!

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 11

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi Homeuser66,

Here is what BrianL is trying to tell you.  Kindly read the following below:

A.  If ever the AT&T gateway is a combination of modem and router, then configure the AT&T Gateway as a modem-only device.  Then connect the Asus router directly to the AT&T Gateway.  This will make the Asus router as the main router.  Then connect the JGS524 switch directly to the Asus router to extend the local network.  Refer to the image below:

B. If ever the AT&T gateway is a combination of modem and router then you could just remove the Asus router from the network setup.  This will make the AT&T gateway the main router.  Then connect the JGS524 switch directly to the AT&T gateway to extend your local network.  Refer to the image below: