× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

JGS524 not showing 1GB connection when It should

riller
Aspirant

JGS524 not showing 1GB connection when It should

I am a networking novice and am trying to troubleshoot something around performance.  The switch allows both 100Mbps and 1gig service indicated by yellow (100Mb) and Green (1Gb).  I have one connection that is using Cat5e patch cable showing 100Mb where it should be 1Gb.  Other connections coming out of the switch are green but not this one.  I have tried a variety of sockets in case that was the problem but still Yellow.

The cable is a longer run than the rest (probably 40ft) to a Linksys Velop node so in my estimation, the switch, the cable and the node are all capable of 1Gb so I should be showing a green light.  Before I start ripping stuff apart, what in that setup might be the cause of that particular connection showing Yellow?

any help would be greatly appreciated!

Ron

Model: JGS524|24-port Gigabit Switch
Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
TheEther
Guru

Re: JGS524 not showing 1GB connection when It should

It sounds like the cable.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 4

All Replies
TheEther
Guru

I would first check the cable. All 4 wire pairs inside the cable must be in working order in order to run at 1 Gbps. Can you try connecting the cable from the switch to another device known to support 1 Gbps? Alternatively, get an inexpensive network cable tester to check the end to end continuity of all 8 wires.
Message 2 of 4
riller
Aspirant

I can't tell the wiring integrity, but here is something that I tried out, it smells like cable related but not really sure...

The Cat5e patch cable is going into a Time Capsule, that then feeds my elgato port replicator for my mac.  When connected I get internet.