× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: 6.10.x unable to boot with encrypted volume

leo037
Luminary

6.10.x unable to boot with encrypted volume

Attempt to boot with console output on 6.10.1

https://i.imgur.com/YWsEi55.png 

attempt to boot on 6.10.0 after os reinstall 

https://i.imgur.com/0rAXTE1.png

After 10 minutes it now booted 

https://imgur.com/da4ELA4

Model: RN428|ReadyNAS 428 – High-performance Business Data Storage - 8-Bays
Message 1 of 5
leo037
Luminary

Did a restart and still having boot issues

Message 2 of 5
leo037
Luminary

restarting again with my EDA500 connected now

basically stuck at this https://imgur.com/C4FK93f

Message 3 of 5
leo037
Luminary

So to reiterate my steps... (DISCLAIMER - I'm an IT Manager and been working in IT for over 20 years)

1. Tried booting with my encryption keys on a different USB drive. My thinking here initially was that the flash drive failed

2. I tried booting with and without the EDA500 connected. 

3. Tried installing 6.10.0 from flash drive

None of these worked. 

With a suggestion of getting a console session going I took screenshots of the boot process. There seems to be an encryption dependency warning. Not sure what that's going to be. I don't work in linux that much as most of my companies have been windows shops. 

So at this point I was really put off. I'm not really happy with Netgear's lack of support for their products (its assinine to have to pay for support for these things past the 90 days/1 year in my opinion). I also am not happy with Netgear's lack of focus on the forum, especially when you've bought a rackmount model that's nearing $10k in cost. (/rant)

So I decided to everything back and just leave it and wait for someone on the forum to repsond. Well I realized I had a need to get some files off  and decided to turn it back on again. 

Well wouldn't you know, the f**king thing boots up...