× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: BTRFS is killing my NAS

anserk
Aspirant

BTRFS is killing my NAS

I'm having major issues with btrfs in ReadyNAS. Every once in a while it just kills my NAS to a point where even typing SSH commands is very sluggish. Web UI and shares are not accessible. I've read everything I could on the Internet (about balancing, defrag, etc) and have been doing the recommended maintenance. However, once the problem starts, I can't find a way to stop btrfs, whatever it's trying to do. It's a chicken-and-egg situation: to fix the problem, I need my system usable, but the problem makes it unusable.

I'm not a newbie and work with Linux professionally. I really regret buying ReadyNAS, not knowing it forces btrfs without an option to use a reliable file system instead. I don't care so much for the fancy features and snapshots if it can't deliver the basic functionality. Sometimes I don't even care about the data (it's mostly unimportant in my home environment), I just want the system back usable without having to go through factory reset every few months.

Does anyone have any suggestions how to kill btrfs-transacti and related processes after it's stuck? Or tell btrfs to throttle down whatever it's trying to do?

Model: RN10200|ReadyNAS 100 Series 2-Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 8
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Which firmware are you running?

Have you disabled quotas at the volume level?

How full is your data volume?
Message 2 of 8
anserk
Aspirant