× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Backup assistance

rmurgz
Tutor

Backup assistance

I am a photographer with currently 5.5TB of data stored across 4x2 TB drives on a READYNAS 314 which is accessed via both PCs and Macs.

It is imperative that I keep multiple off-site back-ups however I am hampered by the incredibly slow internet line speeds I get where I live.

My first backup is split using a 3tb and 4tb external drive and I'm in the process of buying a 6TB drive.

So far I have been doing ad-hoc copying exercises to external hard drives but this is time consuming and fraught with risk. I had been using the BackUp function on the console with the drives attached via USB3 but I'm not sure it differentiates between the different drives when backing up.

What I want is a simple synchronisation routine set up for each of the drives - so the 6tb is a full synchronisation, with the 3tb and 4tb only synchronising portions of the NAS. These drives are purely slaves - i.e. synchronisation only happens one way. I use Acronis 2014 (PC) and GoodSync (Mac) to sync between my computers and the NAS, and want to do something similar between the NAS and hard drives without having to run the data through either the PC or MAC.

I noted that the latest OS release 6.2 has sync features but I think this is between a PC and MAC?

Can anyone help suggest potential solutions?

Many thanks in advance.
Message 1 of 9
StephenB
Guru

Re: Backup assistance

I don't think the folder backups in readycloud will help you. One reason is that they don't allow you to select any folder on the PC.

Other posters here have found that the OS6 backups don't handle multiple USB drives very well. I don't use that approach myself, so I don't have any suggestions on it. Perhaps others will chime in.