× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Can't access ReadyNAS RN104, new IPs or credentials issue?

Cazzbags
Aspirant

Can't access ReadyNAS RN104, new IPs or credentials issue?

Hi

I'm a bit of a novice but had managed to set up my ReadyNAS 104 fine and access it over the last couple of years generally without hassle. A few times when moving towns and changing internet routers etc the IP address of the NAS and computer would change and I would need to add my computer IP to the list of hots on the network share so that I could access it via the mapped drives.

For some reason, as I've moved house and changed routers again, I've lost connection. I've checked the NAS IP and managed to get to the admin login again. I've also checked the computer IPv4 and added that to the list of hosts under each share. But for some reason I still can't get in. I've then, after doing some reading up, tried to edit the info in credentials manager to make sure it is ok. I've deleted the old credentials and done them again. The password is showing too many **** for the number of characters (not sure if that is an issue). Either way, I'm still not able to get in. I click on the mapped drive in windows explorer and it comes up with a password pop-up and won't accept my password.

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? How can I get back online?

I've seen someone mention that it's not very secure to add IPs as hosts but it seems to be the only way I've been able to get in through mapped drives. Is there a better way that gets around this constant IP change issue?

Please use small words and full instructions because I don't really know what I'm doing.

Cheers

Model: RN104|ReadyNAS 100 Series 4- Bay
Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: Can't access ReadyNAS RN104, new IPs or credentials issue?

@Cazzbags wrote: