× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Documentation for Replicate, specifically backup and restoring data

nickjames
Luminary

Documentation for Replicate, specifically backup and restoring data

Hello,

I've been using Replicate for about 3 years now and luckily (knock on wood), I'v never had to restore my backup NAS to my primary NAS. That being said, I can't find any documentation on how to restore my data if I had too. I've been following through this PDF, which seems outdated-

http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/READYNAS-COMMON/ReadyNAS%20Replicate%20UM_10Jul2013.pdf

→ Is there any more documentation regarding this specifically?

Also, if its full/incremental backups, how does the file structure work on the backup device? There is a new folder each time it runs.

Is there something that works better than Replicate? Or easier to understand?

Model: RN51600|ReadyNAS 516 6-Bay
Message 1 of 25

Accepted Solutions
nickjames
Luminary

Thanks againg for your input, StephenB and TeknoJnky.

I got everything backed up this last week and so far as good.

StephenB, I know when I called into Netgear originally to setup Replicate, they suggested NOT to use snapshots on the destination (backupnas) device. Should I also not be creating snapshots on the destination device, when using Rsync?

By the way, I'm going with the "pull" method as I like the idea of putting the NAS on a power schedule. That being said, do I just figure how long the backup jobs should take, schedule them within the hours that the NAS is powered on, and that is it? Will it power off automatically if schedule backups are pending or in the middle of finishing one?

Here is a picture of my current schedule, which by the way, can you just have them all run at the same time and it will run each one, one-by-one until completion?

backup_jobs.JPG

Thanks again for your suggestions!

View solution in original post