× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Downgrading ReadyNAS firmware from 6.10.x - Redux

DoctorBrown
Apprentice

Downgrading ReadyNAS firmware from 6.10.x - Redux

I know this subject has been covered in the past, but almost all the articles are from many years ago. And none are helpful for my issue. I've been using my reliable ReadyNAS 102 for many years now. It's now been upgraded to 6.10.8. The problem I'm having is the throughput is only able to get to about 100 Mb/s. I know in the past, it used to be about 500Mb/s. I'm not sure when this started but I just noticed a month or so ago.

I've gone though everything I can think of, but nothing's worked. I have another thread here where I'm getting help working on that part, but in this thread I want to know more about the currently known pitfalls of trying to downgrade the firmware to see if that's playing a role. Another user responded to my other thread and said their throughput was near what I was getting in the past. So this may be a shot-in-the-dark.

So far I've been able to downgrade to 6.10.0, but not older, at least by the methods documented by Netgear or other posts. I'm also aware of some information that suggests that it's not possible due to changes in the bootloader.

I'd appreciate it greatly if anyone can shed more details or point me to more info on the Downgrading processes limits and methods. I'm at the point of considering chucking this one. And getting a non-Netgear system.

Again, thanks for any insights.

Message 1 of 11
Sandshark
Sensei

Re: Downgrading ReadyNAS firmware from 6.10.x - Redux

Because ARM based ReadyNAS use UBOOT to load the OS, they are far more fragile WRT OS downgrades than an Intel based system.  As for the limits, they are officially that you can only go backwards beyond the first decimal place, which is as far as you've already gone. (6.10.x to 6.10.1 is OK, but not to 6.9.x).