× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Duplicate file cleaning

No1Husker
Aspirant

Duplicate file cleaning

I have very little knowledge of ReadyNAS and Raid, I would appreciate some direction. When I review my files on my RN10400 I seem to have a fair amount of files that are duplicates both in the same and different directories. What is the most efficiant way to identify duplicates, remove and maintain my ReadyNAS?

Is there an add-on program to accomplish this task?

Thanks,

Randy

Model: RN10400|ReadyNAS 100 Series 4- Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 5
StephenB
Guru

@No1Husker wrote:

When I review my files on my RN10400 I seem to have a fair amount of files that are duplicates both in the same and different directories.

First, make sure they actually are duplicates. When you access the NAS using the admin credentials, you will see multiple paths to the same folder.

For instance,  \data\home\admin \home\admin and \admin are three different paths to get to same folder (the private admin share in this case).   Also, if you configured snapshots to be accessible from Windows, then you might be thinking the snapshots are duplicates.

So maybe give a couple of actual path names here, so we can confirm.

Also, what do you mean by duplicates in the same directory???

Message 2 of 5
No1Husker
Aspirant

Hi Stephen,

Thanks for the response. I believe it has more to do with different backups over time. An example would be wher there was a backup created for my wife's phone. Then for some reason over time there was an additional backup created for the same phone. When you look in the backups a large portion of the files are duplicates of the same thing. This has happened for several devices. I am attempting to figure out the best way to clean this up and save some space on my NAS.