× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Freeing up space on the OS partition (RAIDar 4.2.28, ReadyNAS Ultra 2)

chaug
Aspirant

Freeing up space on the OS partition (RAIDar 4.2.28, ReadyNAS Ultra 2)

From time to time (very rarely) my OS partition fills up to 100% causing all kinds of issues. Usually, the reason are some log-files that just became too big or too many. Once I had to move the CrashPlan cache to another partition. Once I cleared out stuff, the partiction usage was down to 30-40 percent again. But this time, I seem to be stuck at just under 80% and I can't figure out where all that junk might be . Or alternatively, why I suddenly need so much more space. 

The problem is, I'm not a linux expert and I don't know exactly which directories are actually located on the OS partition. So far I have checked the following:

/var

/usr

/etc

/tmp

And I cleared all logs and obviously unnecessary files, but that doesn't seem to be enough.

What might I be missing?

Christoph

So every time I find myself trying to figure out, which directories are actually on the OS partition so that I can target these (obviously, I'm not a linux/debian expert). 

Model: ReadyNASRNDU2110|ReadyNAS Ultra 2
Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
chaug
Aspirant

Re: Freeing up space on the OS partition (RAIDar 4.2.28, ReadyNAS Ultra 2)

Okay, so thanks to mdgm's assistance, it turns out that the files that were clogging up the OS partition were in /mnt/NAS2 where I had mounted another volume and to which Crashplan was writing its backup archives. The problem was that for mysterious reasons that volume disappeared from /etc/fstab and was no longer mounted. And as a result, Crashplan was writing to /mnt/NAS2 as a directory in the OS partition. I would never have thought that it is possible to write to /mnt/NAS2 when the volume is not mounted  but apparently it is just an ordinary directory in those conditions.