× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Is it possible to use a ReadyNAS Duo v2 as Direct Attached Storage (DAS)

Rustie-
Aspirant

Is it possible to use a ReadyNAS Duo v2 as Direct Attached Storage (DAS)

I need to know if it is possible to use a ReadyNAS Duo v2 just as a Direct Attached Storage (DAS) device as opposed to a NAS. Strange question I know. However, I'm not an IT pro by any means, but from what I have read on various forums trying to find a solution I understand that Microsoft have stopped supporting the SMB1 file sharing protocol recently due to security vunerabilities. As the Duo v2 uses this protocol and presumably, because Netgear have also stopped supporting this system becasue let's face it it is getting a bit old, I can no longer see my device as a drive within file explorer. I can log onto it through the IP address over the inernet so I can view the files stored on it but I can no longer save files to it making it pretty useless. It's frustrating because the system itself works absolutely fine, or at least it did, there's nothing else wrong with it at all, I've got masses of space left on the disks and I really don't want to just throw it out. Hence my question, is it possible to somehow use this a DAS. I'm currently running Windows 7, although I'm looking to upgrade this to 10 as soon as I get time. Any help would be appreciated.

Model: RND2000v2|ReadyNAS Duo v2 Chassis only
Message 1 of 12
StephenB
Guru

Re: Is it possible to use a ReadyNAS Duo v2 as Direct Attached Storage (DAS)

@Rustie- wrote:

I need to know if it is possible to use a ReadyNAS Duo v2 just as a Direct Attached Storage (DAS) device as opposed to a NAS. 

No, you can't.  If you were to get a new NAS, you could repurpose your old Duo as a backup device (using rsync backup jobs).

@Rustie- wrote: