× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: My ReadyNas 2120v2 Diskless will not update past FW 6.9.0

raelriggs
Aspirant

My ReadyNas 2120v2 Diskless will not update past FW 6.9.0

Hi All, my first question here, 

I have been using a RN2021 v2 for about 3 years give or take, I like the device and the features. I have 4no 4TB drives installed and have them in the normal X-Raid2 configuration. 

I have been fighting for some time to get the updates to take hold. my device is currently on 6.0.0 and will not upgrade to any of the updates that come out after. 

my steps to upgrade in each case are:

login,

get a update message on screen,

click upgrade button,

device downloads the files and then shuts down the webpage such that there is a scroll bar displaying to show the update progress,

that is as far as it has ever gotten with all the versions of firmware including the latest one. I have left it in this condition for a number of differing times, including  a full weekend Friday evening to Monday morning. 

the only way I can get the device to function is by pulling the main plug and powering it back on, from there it boots as normal, when I login to the web management page it displays a message that the update has not been successful. 

the device continues to function as normal but does not ever update. 

when the device is none responsive I cannot connect to either of the lan ports by Putty or by web interface, all pings fail as well. my Unifi network management software also shows the ports as not connected. 

i run the network ports as bonded pair, but this is a recent change and the updates failed before i bonded the interfaces. 

if you have any suggestions for anything i can do to get the updates to take hold i would appreciate your help.

Raelrigs

PS not able to repond untill after the weekend as working away. would appreciate any suggestiosn in the meantime.