× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

New to NAS: Initial setup of a ReadyNAS DUO 2000

xm8
Aspirant
Aspirant

New to NAS: Initial setup of a ReadyNAS DUO 2000

Allright! New guy here who just bought his first NAS (RND2000). Currently, I've got all my files spread across four different external USB-drives, understandably this isn't particularly efficient. I got a good offer on a RND2000 NAS so I thought I might go the NAS route and instead use the USB-drives as secondary backups and so on. However, since I'm new to NAS I might need some guidance on the proper setup procedure.

What I want from the NAS:

1) The disks to behave as seperate volumes (I have no need for any RAID functionality).
2) Have Disk 2 be the backup of Disk 1.

What I have done so far:

1) Attached each harddrive to the trays and inserted them into the NAS.
2) Installed the RAIDar Software.

From what I can gather, getting the disks to behave as separate volumes isn't straight forward:

1) Connect the NAS to the network and power on the device.
2) Perform a factory default to reset the NAS (Reset-button on the back of the NAS).
3) During the first ten minutes use RAIDar and change the settings from X-RAID to Flex-RAID (Setup->Mode).
4) Delete the RAID 1 Volume (Frontview > Volumes > Volume Settings).
5) Create two separate RAID 0 volumes, one for each disk (Frontview > Volumes > Volume Settings).

Does this setup procedure sound about right to you guys?

EDIT:

I've powered the NAS and launced RAIDar. Can't click on either Setup or Browse-buttons on first-time startup. It's currently syncing disk 2. Do I have to wait until this is done and then follow the above procedure (if it's right...) ?
Message 1 of 5
TeknoJnky
Hero

Re: New to NAS: Initial setup of a ReadyNAS DUO 2000

the above is correct, but if you start with 1 drive, you don't have to wait for the resync.