× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: New to NAS storage - total beginner, looking to set up a second hand Netgear ReadyNAS Duo v2

JasonCP
Aspirant

New to NAS storage - total beginner, looking to set up a second hand Netgear ReadyNAS Duo v2

Dear community,

This has probably been asked before. I did try and look but couldn't find anything.

I have just bought a ReadyNAS Duo v2 off Ebay.There is a sticker on the bottom: FW v4.1.6. The model is RND2120.

I have also purchased two new WD 2TB Red NAS discs and fitted them, connected it to my router and powered the unit up.

Disk activity LED is rapid flash.

Disk 1 is steady (on)

Disk 2 is slow flash.

Rear panel Ethernet port LEDs : Amber steady, Green flashing.

I have opened up readycloud and created an account.

I am running Windows 10 home on my PC.

Opening my Firefox browser, I can paste the IP address into the search bar and get into the shares page with the Ebay sellers supplied account and password. The message is "no shares currently available"

This is as far as I have got.

My first challenge is to get ready cloud to discover the NAS.This is where I am stuck and looking for assistance.

Please be gentle and thanking you all in advance.

Model: RND2000v2 (ReadyNAS Duo v2)|READYNAS DUO v2 (DISKLESS)|EOL
Message 1 of 10

Accepted Solutions
Sandshark
Sensei

Re: New to NAS storage - total beginner, looking to set up a second hand Netgear ReadyNAS Duo v2

For others considering purchasing used, look at the picture of the rear of the Duo in question.  If the fan is the full width of the chassis, it's a "real" V2.  If the fan is smaller, and there is an depression where the power plugs in, it's a V1.  Even on poor quality photos, these can usually be picked out.

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 10

All Replies
Sandshark
Sensei